Brent, Eden / Mississippi Number One
Album: Mississippi Number One   Collection:Blues
Artist:Brent, Eden   Added:Apr 2008
Label:Yellow Dog Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-04-13 Pull Date: 2008-06-15 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Jun 1 May 11 May 4 Apr 20
Airplays: 1 1 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 24, 2011: Music Casserole [blues marathon 2011]
Trouble In Mind
4. Aug 21, 2010: Music Casserole
The Man I Love
2. Oct 02, 2010: blues with a feelin
He'll Do The Same Thing To You
5. Nov 08, 2008: blues with a feelin'
Mississippi Flatland Blues
3. Aug 28, 2010: blues with a feelin
Love Me 'til Dawn, Mississippi Flatland Blues
6. May 31, 2008: blues with a feelin
Meet You Anywhere

Album Review
Andrea L
Reviewed 2008-04-27
Brent, Eden/Mississippi Number One
Yellow Dog Records 2008 Review: Andrea
Amazing piano blues that travels from R&B to soul, to funk tinged blues and jazz. A Mississippi singer and pianist covering classics and some of her own terric songs as well. Knicknamed “Little Boogaloo” by her mentor Boogaloo Ames. This is an amazing release. Every track is great. FCC Clean. Track 14 incorrectly credited to Amos Milburn, but it’s by Richard M. Jones.
1) 3:14 Mid, great vocals and hard driving piano blues. Written by her mom.
2) 3:58 Up rousing blues number.
3) 3:20 Mid, great piano blues, think Betty Carter meets Randy Newman.
4) 3:25 Slow and pretty tune, the vocals are throaty and sexy, she kicks ass…gorgeous. Written by mama.
5) 3:54 Mid funky down home tune, great lyrics and sure to make you hungry. Sparse pared down instrumentation. Ends with laughter.
6) 3:56 Up Title track, blues rock about her home. Boogaloo!
7) 4:10 Slow great version of this Gershwin tune…the vocals slay.
8) 3:46 Slow and amazing version of the WC Handy song…damn.
9) 3:24 Mid funky full band backing her on this one.
10) 4:14 Slow and fantastic version of this song, her throaty vocals are perfect for this song without sounding effected.
11) 3:41 Mid jazzy
12) 2:39 Up bouncy. Written on the spot by her mom when her dad had stayed out all night, go mama go.
13) 3:33 Slow stunning love song
14) 5:52 Slow full on blues great cover. Damn, I heard a musician at a festival explain that you shouldn’t force vibrato, you have to feel it. Well, Ms. Eden certainly feels it...
15) 4:17 Slow and gorgeous, builds soulful.

Track Listing
1. Mississippi Flatland Blues   8. Careless Love
2. He'll Do The Same Thing To You   9. Meet You Anywhere
3. Darkness On The Delta   10. Why Don't You Do Right
4. Love Me 'til Dawn   11. Afraid To Let Go
5. Fried Chicken   12. Close The Door
6. Mississippi Number One   13. All Over Me
7. The Man I Love   14. Trouble In Mind
  15. Until I Die...