Mcgregor, Chris / Brotherhood Of Breath / Eclipse At Dawn
Album: Eclipse At Dawn   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Mcgregor, Chris / Brotherhood Of Breath   Added:Apr 2008
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-06-01 Pull Date: 2008-08-03 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 15 Jun 8
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 24, 2016: Music Casserole
Funky Boots March
4. Jul 04, 2008: Memory Select
The Bride
2. Jul 25, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
Nick Tete
5. Jun 13, 2008: Music to Make Babies To
Nick Tete, Introduction By Ronnie Scott
3. Jul 11, 2008: Memory Select
Nick Tete
6. Jun 06, 2008: Memory Select
Do It

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-05-30
Another archival (1971) recording from this joyous "mixed" band out of South Africa's apartheid days. A bouncing and joyous sound, with plenty of space for free and loose soloing, all cased in traditional big-band motifs. Great for all varieties of jazz/world shows.

Harry Beckett - trumpet
Marc Charig - trumpet
Nick Evans - trombone
Malcolm Griffiths - trombone
Chris McGregor - piano
Harry Miller - bass
Louis Moholo - drums
Dudu Pukwana - alto sax
Mike Osborne - alto sax
Alan Skidmore - tenor sax
Gary Windo - tenor sax

1- Spoken band intro
2- Sunny carnival sound, infectiously happy. Free soloing space, but not too wild.
3- Crazy free improv by the group. A more spare and free piece but still fast-paced. Nice trumpet solo. Busy full-band chaos later on.
4- Big swaying riff w/horn wildness
5- Quiet improv interlude, still keeps up a good pace
6- Fast rolling big-band themes. Big brash horns. Choppy, squirrelly sax solo. Yeah! (but 15 mins. long)
7- Fun Charlie Chaplain bounce. Swingy.
8- Rollicking '50s-TV-sounding theme to end it. (2 mins. long)
9- Applause! and band intros.

Track Listing
1. Introduction By Ronnie Scott   5. Eclipse At Dawn
2. Nick Tete   6. The Bride
3. Restless   7. Now
4. Do It   8. Funky Boots March
  9. Sendoff And Applause