Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Maupin, Bennie Quartet / Early Reflections
Album:Early Reflections Collection:Jazz
Artist:Maupin, Bennie Quartet Added:May 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date:2008-06-15 Pull Date:2008-08-17 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Aug 17Jul 27Jul 13Jul 6Jun 29

 Recent Airplay
1.May 06, 2016:Rebop
4.Jul 11, 2008:No Cover, No Minimum
Prophet's Motifs
2.Aug 15, 2008:Memory Select
Prophet's Motifs
5.Jul 08, 2008:Streams, Highways, and Electrical Grids
3.Jul 25, 2008:No Cover, No Minimum
6.Jul 04, 2008:No Cover, No Minimum

Album Reviews
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-11-15 
Some additional backstory: This is a recording of Maupin's Polish band, with Michal Tokaj on piano, Michal Baranski on bass, Lukasz Zyta on drums, and Hania Chowaniec-Rybka on vocals on two tracks. Full story here: http://www.greenleafmusic.com/#/blog/2008/11/bennie_maupin.php
Reviewed 2008-06-14 
Cryptogramophone, 2008

MODERN JAZZ – Beautiful, introspective ballads and tone poems from Maupin, an eclectic multi-reedist best known for his work in Miles Davis’ electric bands. These tunes are technically quite advanced but sound simple, even hummable, and often have a spiritual sense about them. It’s a quiet, very gentle set that rewards close listening.

Fo’s Picks: 2, 4, 6, 10, 12, 13

1. 2:37 – calm, floating ballad: drifts lazily
2. 7:44 – gorgeous ballad with a mysterious Latin melody and rich soloing
3. 2:23 – short & abstract over walking groove, just sketches the outlines
4. 8:59 – haunting tune with wordless vox, starts slow, brightens, then surges
5. 3:49 – darkening tone poem; echoes of a distant storm, quotes a standard
6. 10:15 – tinkly intro, then a casual roll, becomes vigorously spiritual postbop
7. 3:04 – dramatic drums into elastic walking groove
8. 7:52 – slow and sad: achingly beautiful melody, like a lonely flower
9. 2:38 – abstract sketch, balances freeform sound with tight coordination
10. 5:46 – rocks gently: sweet piano musings and sage soprano sax
11. 7:14 – slow, calm ballad, hangs suspended, then picks up a light groove
12. 4:24 – perky sound, tricky rhythms give way to a happy, soulful strut
13. 9:04 – strange & otherworldly with wordless vocal, becomes moody ballad

[ Fo ] 14-Jun-08

Track Listing
1.Within Reach 7.Black Ice
2.Escondido 8.Tears
3.Inside The Shadows 9.Not Leter Than Now
4.Atma 10.Early Reflections
5.Ours Again 11.Inner Sky
6.The Jewel In The Lotus 12.Prophet's Motifs
 13.Spirits Of The Tatras