Industrial Jazz Group / Leef
Album: Leef   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Industrial Jazz Group   Added:May 2008
Label:Evander Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-06-29 Pull Date: 2008-08-31 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 13, 2017: No Cover, No Minimum
Don't Let 'em Getcha
4. Aug 22, 2008: Memory Select
2. Sep 26, 2008: Oatmeal
The Job Song
5. Aug 15, 2008: Memory Select
Don't Let 'em Getcha (intro'd by "And Go")
3. Aug 29, 2008: Memory Select
The Job Song (Radio Edit)
6. Aug 05, 2008: Streams, Highways Redux
Big Ass Truck (Radio Edit)

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-06-25
Iconoclastic big band with rollicking charts, tight playing, and solid vocals that include swearing. Lots of fun. Occasional free-jazzy solos, but it's mostly accessible, with quick-paced tunefulness in multiphased songs that keep you on your toes. Mostly sourced from '50s R&B/doo-wop sounds, mixed with traditional swing. It doesn't sound like Frank Zappa's large bands but is coming from a similar place. Weird little interludes add a surreal touch (2,5,7,12).

vocals: 9,13(FCC),14(FCC),17,18

1/2- Lengthy, silly intro with crowd noise.
3: Cool, catchy riff with lots of off-kilter horns
4- Sneaky start, into big bouncing instrumental
5- Helium-voiced interlude
6- Multiphased. Fun but less manic than 3 or 15. Faux opera intro.
7- (spoken blip)
8- Off-balance horn lines, then kind of a mariachi chase scene. Goofy "yes I'm bad" vocals at the end.
9- Snarky stage-musical feel, about getting a real job
10- *FCC* i think... Interlude: randomness including words
11- Drunken swing. Maybe touches of klezmer.
12- Weird interlude
13- *FCC* many times. New agey piano; goofy narration
14- *FCC* one "what the fuck" ; Sultry song about getting chased by a truck. Crazy punk/clown drive at the end.
15- '50s doo-wop riff, into a fun fast instrumental. SEGUES:
16- Really goofy beer-hall warbling over piano. Ends with Zorn-like sax attack and lotsa applause.

17- Radio-safe version of 14
18- Edit of 9, although I think 9 is radio-safe to begin with

Track Listing
1. Ladies And Gentlemen   10. The Hotdog Hat
2. And Go   11. Howl
3. Don't Let 'em Getcha   12. Big Ass Preview
4. Pdx Lix Lax   13. Richardson's Road Poem
5. My Guitar   14. Big Ass Truck
6. Bongo Non Troppo   15. Fuck The Muck, Part 1
7. What's Industrial Jazz?   16. Fuck The Muck, Part 2
8. What's In Anne's Icebox?   17. Big Ass Truck (Radio Edit)
9. The Job Song   18. The Job Song (Radio Edit)