Tippy Canoe And The Paddlemen / Parasols And Pekingese
Album: Parasols And Pekingese   Collection:General
Artist:Tippy Canoe And The Paddlemen   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Late Bloomers Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-06-22 Pull Date: 2008-08-24
Week Ending: Aug 24 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
Travelling Light
4. Sep 24, 2008: Rorshach's Dance
Mass Transmissions
2. Aug 07, 2010: Music Casserole
5. Aug 23, 2008: New World Disorder
3. Nov 26, 2008: Sonic Bubble Sub
Mass Transmissions
6. Aug 19, 2008: Crosscurrents

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-07-05
Perfect mix of nostalgic sentimental old timey music with contemporary pop sensibilities. This is local Michele Kappel’s band, ukulele fronted, that she formed when her previous infamous Kirby Grips split. Joyous melodies and rhythms permeate this entire cd, from ragtime to latin spice, with western twang thrown into the mix. But its “Tippy’s” vocals that makes everything she does so authentic, real. I think that technically she sings slightly flat more often than not. But its such a human perfection in its imperfection that makes your heart swell to this. All tracks are great, FCC clean. Track 8 has “hit” written all over it. For fans of Tom Waits, Nick Cave, Eleni Mandell.

1) slight twang, western feel, upbeat with lovely melodies and special background vocals/harmonies
2) sultry minor keyed latin flared, rhumba exotica feel
3) folksie ragtime tone to this, with uke and bar-room piano pomp and swagger
4) upbeat loungy, a 60’s pop feel, pretty and all about the melodies
5) slow waltzing lullaby, sad and epic, could work well in a bar full of sad drunks
6) swampy ragtime feel, male lead vocals only
7) upbeat western feel, lovely and passionate
8) upbeat, poppy, Kirby Grips feel and just a cute and great song, no way to be sad listening to this
9) vaudevillian ragtime feel to this
10) latin, carribean rhumba feel for sure, cha cha cha
11) just a great upbeat feel, ready to dance or ready to cry, cant figure it out, just play the dang track

Track Listing
1. Mass Transmissions   6. Monday Night Man
2. Reel After Reel   7. Nut Butter Baby
3. Neighbor Of The Tell-Tale Heart   8. Champs-Elysees
4. Mood-Ish Me   9. When You've Gone Too Far
5. Sleep, Sleep My Dear   10. Puerto Angel
  11. Travelling Light