Harlem Experiment, The / Harlem Experiment, The
Album: Harlem Experiment, The   Collection:General
Artist:Harlem Experiment, The   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Ropeadope Music Entertain  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-08-03 Pull Date: 2008-10-05
Week Ending: Oct 5 Sep 28 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10
Airplays: 2 1 3 3 5 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 22, 2013: Happy Hour
One For Jackie
4. Oct 02, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
It's Just Begun
2. Aug 20, 2009: Happy Hour
One For Jackie, Intro
5. Sep 30, 2008: Mmmm...Tastes Like Candy
It's Just Begun
3. Dec 26, 2008: Time Traveler
A Rose In Spanish Harlem
6. Sep 24, 2008: Rorshach's Dance
Reefer Man

Album Review
Andrea L
Reviewed 2008-09-01
Harlem Experiment, The/The Harlem Experiment/ropeadope/2007
A funky mix of jazz, blues, soul, and even klezmer. All star cast see below. The third in the series that began with the Philadelphia Experiment, then Detroit it is styled to represent a radio program with muMs from “Oz” as the DJ. Some great artists representing Harlem on this release including James Hunter, Taj Mahal, Don Byron, Carlos Alomar, Ruben Rodriguez. All tracks are great and the radio element is great instead of camp. It does create some challenges on some tracks, proceed cautiously. FCC #12 “Ass” and “Nigger” Reviewed by Andrea
1) 1:13 Spoken word intro over soundbed expounding the glories of Harlem life.
2) 3:20 Midtempo horn riff with some electronic overlays
3) 2:49 Mid/Up talking over beginning, funky bed. Cameo cover
4) 3:02 Mid/Up Cab Calloway goes latin, I kid not with Taj Mahal on the vocal…ole
5) 3:33Slow/Mid Great cover of this classic Harlem tune.
6) 3:47 Slow/Mid cover, “To Me You Are Beautiful” sung originally in Yiddish, the klezmer version with Don Byron on Clarinet and Ruben on bass are transcendent.
7) :49 Funky spoken muMs moment
8) 3:43 Up remix of Jimmy Castor and the Castor Bunch’s funk classic…..mmmm shake it!
9) 2:38 Mid Machito Orchestra’s adaptation of the Benny Goodman classic paired down and made more boogaloo. Suavecito! Ends with spoken word. Caution.
10) 2:35 Slow. Ben E. King classic done in the style of the Arif Mardin/Aretha Franklin version by James Hunter!
11) 3:35 Begins with Malcom X interview which fades as the horn takes center stage. Original tune some serious jazzness. Brilliant.
12) 3:37 Mid great muMs VO. Suhweet. Poetry. [FCC “Ass” and “Nigger”]
13) 4:41 Mid funky version with Queen Esther on vocals and spoken word at the beginning. Nods to James Brown who produced the definitive version. Ends with a muMs moment that segues into track 14.
14) 4:05 Mid/Instrumental version of #10, gorgeous.
15) 5:03 Slow, sweet stroll with Olu Dara…yes…you are in harlem now.

Track Listing
1. Intro   8. It's Just Begun
2. One For Jackie   9. Mambo A La Savoy
3. Rigor Mortis   10. A Rose In Spanish Harlem
4. Reefer Man   11. One For Malcolm
5. Harlem River Drive   12. Lil' Bit
6. Bei Mir Bist Du Schon   13. Think
7. Mums' Interlude   14. A Rose In Spanish Harlem (Instrumental)
  15. Walking Through Harlem (Feat. Olu Dara)