Lights Out Asia / Eyes Like Brontide
Album: Eyes Like Brontide   Collection:General
Artist:Lights Out Asia   Added:Aug 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-02 Pull Date: 2009-01-04
Week Ending: Jan 4 Dec 7 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 17, 2012: The Fall of Math
4. Jan 02, 2009: Music Casserole
Psiu! Puxa!
2. Jul 31, 2009: Trailways
Radars Over The Ghosts Of Chernobyl
5. Dec 28, 2008: Music Casserole
Radars Over The Ghosts Of Chernobyl
3. Jan 03, 2009: Lost and Found
6. Dec 03, 2008: Orangeasm

Album Review
Annika Heinle
Reviewed 2008-11-03
Eyes Like Brontide - Lights Out Asia

reviewed by: Annika

875 965

An incredible post-rock, shoegaze type of band. Very ethereal, with a dark side to this album. Sound a lot like m83 and Explosions in the Sky had a child. There are many long songs on this album, and no FCC violations. Excellent use of a drum kit is made. An incredible album from a very well respected band in the post-rock world. (2,3,5)

1. eerie intro, people speaking, crackling, ethereal sonics, short, no FCC violation
2. a very long song, choir like vocals, drum kit enters after about a minute of floating sonics, guitar becomes present, as song picks up becomes less shoegaze and more post-rock, a highlight of the album, m83-esque vocals towards the middle, hushed romantic lyrics, no FCC violations
3. similar intro as previous, hushed sonics, fading into drum kit, repeating piano riff, very m83 outro, no FCC violations
4. upbeat drum kit, very optimistic sleep-rock, beautiful piano, powerful buildup of extraterrestrial sounds over the drum kit, climax at 3:10, introduction of the electric guitar, powerful vocals, no FCC violations
5. very long song, intro with dialogue between what sounds like pilots over walkie talkies, dream sonics continue underneath dialogue, almost sounds like an Explosions in the Sky song with much more of a drum kit influence, dialogue continues all the way through, no FCC violations
6. m83-esque intro, very upbeat drum kit, with ethereal piano playing over the top, less dark than the rest of the album, no FCC violations
7. very melancholy, low intro compared to the rest of the album, vocals start at almost the very beginning of the song, very sad tone and lyrics, almost sigur ros-ish, no FCC violations
8. very long song, drum kit use is very prevalent and impressive , post-rock definitely, moving into sleep rock, xylophone creates a very interesting effect, a very effective closing track for the album

Track Listing
1. A Day Towards Other Days   5. The Wrong Message Could End You
2. Radars Over The Ghosts Of Chernobyl   6. Mir
3. X-33   7. If I Die, I Wish You A Horrible Death
4. Psiu! Puxa!   8. Six Points Of Fire