Sub Swara / Coup D'yah
Album: Coup D'yah   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Sub Swara   Added:Aug 2008
Label:Low Motion Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-08-10 Pull Date: 2008-10-12 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Sep 28 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 25, 2013: New World Disorder
The Balance
4. Oct 01, 2011: New World Disorder
Yeah (Ina Dravidian Bombstep)
2. Jun 30, 2012: New World Disorder
Yeah (Ina Dravidian Bombstep)
5. Jul 14, 2011: Happy Hour
Backwater Dub
3. Feb 11, 2012: New World Disorder
Hi Fidelity (Shambhala Riddim)
6. Mar 19, 2009: Happy Hour
Backwater Dub

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-08-11
Sub Swara – Coup d’Yah
Reviewed by Sadie O., 8/7/08
Electronic/dubstep/ragga/dub dancehall with lots of international elements, from NYC. Very popular club outfit, akin to (and interacting to an extent with) the Surya Dub crew from SF. Heavy on the electronic whooshes, often trance-y. They really hit the mark, IMO, when they incorporate Bhangra riddims with the ragga/dancehall.
No FCCs detected – many vocals are cut up and processed.
All tracks very good; I like 7 and 10 in particular.
1. 4:32 **electronic percussion, Jamaican-accented dancehall vocals. Glitchy bits, midtempo dancehall with lots of electronic swoops.
2. 5:03 **glitchy intro, uptempo electronic dancehall/dubstep riddim with added percussion including tabla, American-accented hip hop vocals. Fun, gloopy electronics.
3. 5:36 **drums and horns/flutes with a bit of electronics, changing tempo and riddim. Exotic more than dance-y.
4. 4:31 ***horn blats and slinky midtempo syncopation. Hints of spy movie soundtrack.
5. 4:40 **midtempo electronic dubstep/dancehall, Jamaican vocals.
6. 5:09 **electronic bangs and echos, slowly merging with hand percussion into slow skank, hints of faraway female vocals.
7. 4:42 ****bhangra/dancehall mashup – engaging as hell!
8. 5:01 **random beats and lyricless female singing. Tabla and uptempo riddim comes and goes, strong Indian flavor.
9. 5:16 **slow and rather liquid electronics, with flute/horns, then slow dub skank with boops, vaguely Chinese feeling.
10. 6:19 ****wonderful processed handdrums, chimes, bits of male vocals. Increases in speed and complexity. Keen! Winds up a slow electronic Bhangra.
11. 4:58 **uptempo dubstep with hints of hand percussion, rather minimal and trance-y, until the big electronic whooshes start.
12. 5:11 **drones and hand drums, very slow; low-key, middle-eastern style horns, tiny bits of vocals, those whooshes.

Track Listing
1. Hi Fidelity (Shambhala Riddim)   7. The Balance
2. Infiltrate Sub Set Refix)   8. Insh'allah
3. Alabaster Dub   9. Constructing The Absence
4. Belgrade Riddim   10. Yeah (Ina Dravidian Bombstep)
5. Banga   11. Tkm
6. Backwater Dub   12. Koli Stance