Holly Golightly And The Brokeoffs / Dirt Don't Hurt
Album: Dirt Don't Hurt   Collection:General
Artist:Holly Golightly And The Brokeoffs   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Transdreamer Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-02 Pull Date: 2009-01-04
Week Ending: Jan 4 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9
Airplays: 2 2 2 2 4 4 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 15, 2010: The Courtesy Flush
Gettin' High For Jesus
4. Jan 06, 2009: Deep Fried and Sanctified
I Wanna Hug Ya, Kiss Ya, Squeeze Ya
2. Mar 11, 2009: The Dead Side
Gettin' High For Jesus
5. Jan 04, 2009: Sunny Side Up
Up Off The Floor
3. Feb 11, 2009: Hand Wash in Coleslaw
I Wanna Hug Ya, Kiss Ya, Squeeze Ya
6. Dec 28, 2008: Music Casserole
Three Times Under

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-10-28
British Holly Golightly takes the plunge into “old-timey” music (nice to know that Tippy Canoe and a plethora of Bay Area locals seem to have initiated this genre/”trend”). Undeniably seductive with her Heatcoatees band (a take-off on her boyfriends infamous Headcoats band) she goes into the the American traditional music that’s been plundered a zillion times from Tom Waits to your average alt-country No Depression band. Difference here I guess it’s the diva herself. Its all pretty derivative, but its her, so its good. So check it out. But if this is your first exposure to Holly Golightly, I STRONGLY suggest you plunder her aforementioned projects (check the “Girl in the Shower” 7” that KZSU gleefully has!).

1) swingy and swampy, male dominated
2) slow and sad and bluesy with her vocals up front
3) swingy and swampy, very Waits’y with the percussion
4) slow vibrato, slight circus somberness
5) FCCs
6) swampy and minimal with percussion and banjo, duet vocs
7) slow blues swing, girl vocs in front, slow and dark
8) upbeat, fast rockin southern
9) slow plod Waits’y
10) upbeat banjo fronted and happy drunken scorned feeling, since when did these wankers move down south?
11) slow blues
12) slow somber with her singing
13) upbeat slide guitar male vocals
14) upbeat rockin again, male dominated vocs, great chorus

Track Listing
1. Bottom Below   8. Gettin' High For Jesus
2. Up Off The Floor   9. Three Times Under
3. Burn Your Fun   10. Accuse Me
4. Slow Road   11. Boat's Up The River
5. My 45   12. For All This
6. Cluck Old Hen   13. Cora
7. Indeed You Do   14. I Wanna Hug Ya, Kiss Ya, Squeeze Ya