Enslaved / Vertebrae
Album: Vertebrae   Collection:General
Artist:Enslaved   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Nuclear Blast America  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-30 Pull Date: 2009-02-01 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Feb 1 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 7
Airplays: 3 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 31, 2009: Bloodstains Across Atherton - STUPOR SUNDAY
4. Dec 23, 2008: At Your Local Bloodstains/Diving Into Bloodstains
2. Jan 28, 2009: Baptism of Bloodstains - sub for Mike
New Dawn
5. Dec 18, 2008: Trip Over Bloodstains
3. Jan 28, 2009: public noize racket
New Dawn
6. Dec 06, 2008: Bloodstains Across Atherton (Zee Edit)
To The Coast

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2009-01-03
Proggy yet extreme metal from Norway. This one they seem to be thrown down more of the prog and other challenging stuff. Every song has a more than a decent amount of staying power. Although this isn’t “prog” in the super-technical sense, but it is very layered and commands your attention. Their Norse/Viking theme is still prevalent but here it’s more abstract.

((((1)))) Weird intro (sounds like early 80’s Rush) but eventually becomes prog mixed with fast black metal then back again. Pretty odd but worth your time.
(((((2)))))) Doom with a mix of the clean & extreme vocals. Lots of excellent riffs making it sound like it continually going outward.
(((((3)))) Straight up rock riff done in a slightly odd meter, mixes all sorts of strange vocals tones and transitions together with some great guitar/drum interplay. Nice solo, too.
(((((4)))))) Big ‘ol riff, harsh mixed with clean vocals. Really great sound overall combining prog and extreme metal.
((((((5)))))) Raging, black/thrash with weird vocals then goes into something that could best be called “speed prog”? Eventually slows down and rests between both metal and prog. Awesome!
(((((((6))))))) Simple riff and nice Fripp-like solos, Grutle’s vocals are in top form, oddly catchy in places.
((((((7)))))) Slow, doomy but relaxed ‘ala recent Neurosis. Starts with slow & weary spoken vocals and Grutle’s (“Groot-lay”) patented rasp.
(((((((8)))))) Fantastic guitar sound that’s quickly pushed into another mix of strummy, cyclical prog and metal.

Track Listing
1. Clouds   5. New Dawn
2. To The Coast   6. Reflections
3. Ground   7. Center
4. Vertebrae   8. The Watcher