Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Masters Of Luxury / Welcome To Opulence
Album:Welcome To Opulence Collection:General
Artist:Masters Of Luxury Added:10/2008
Label:All Hail Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2009-03-01 Pull Date:2009-05-03 
Week Ending:12 Apr8 Mar

 Recent Airplay
1.Apr 08, 2009:public noize racket
2.Mar 04, 2009:Brownian Motion

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-02-22 
Stoner metal. A strange melange of lots of different styles here: stoner, hard rock, prog, thrash, even some blues. This Ohio based 5-piece manages to move all over the map and the results are not bad at all. Pretty shredding guitar work overall and good drumming too. My only complaint has to do with the screaming vocals which don't really fit in well with the music itself. Play with The Sword, Clutch, Helmet, Fu Manchu.

Picks: 10, 11, 5, 7 *** FCCs Tracks 9,10 ***

1. intro speech sample from some sort of documentary
2. slow stoner rock intro, changes into a kind of prog/math rock thing with thrashy double bass drumming
3. start-stop and choppy then switches to a straight up metal song with a little melodic section
4. very mathy, guitar goes up and down the scales, then out of a sudden in come the screaming vocals and we are in solid metal territory. gets slow and bluesy towards the end
*5. a big bellowing screaming intro into a solid thrash song. lots of changes in tempo here, nice fluid guitar solo
6. starts as a blues song, then feedback kicks in and we're in stoner land a la Fu Manchu.
*7. straight up swaggering rock. the most accessible song
8. slow and bluesy, picks up tempo, again a lot of time signature changes, becomes thrashy towards the end,
9. FCC ("fuck" sung multiple times) alternates between fast and thrashy and slow and sludgy
**10. FCC (fucking sung @4:50) very over the top guitars, very old school metal sounding
**11. bass intro, starts slow, reminds me a bit of Tool, then becomes kind of proggy and then tempo goes down again into a nice bluesy groove with a shredding guitar solo SILENCE @-0:13
12. short bonus track with silly lyrics ENDS @-0:05

Track Listing
1.Nova 6.Two
2.Nine 7.Six
3.Ten 8.Four
4.Three 9.Seven
5.Five 10.One