Slumberwood / Yawling Night Songs
Album: Yawling Night Songs   Collection:General
Artist:Slumberwood   Added:Nov 2008
Label:A Silent Place  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-23 Pull Date: 2009-01-25
Week Ending: Jan 25 Jan 18 Dec 28 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 21, 2009: Hand Wash in Coleslaw
4. Dec 10, 2008: Brownian Motion
Ll Verme Solitario
2. Jan 15, 2009: A2Z
The Bride Side
5. Dec 10, 2008: Chinese History Gasm
Ll Verme Solitario
3. Dec 24, 2008: Brownian Motion
Mr. Sandman
6. Dec 03, 2008: Brownian Motion

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-11-17
Italian artists who have connections to Sub Pop (Jennifer Gentle) place in your hot hands some of the best avante dream rock/space rock you will ever hear. Definitely no “street date” for this stuff: you should just be glad it exists (I wonder: was there ever a “street date” for Van Gough’s latest work?). This is altogether challenging (track 2) and blissful (track 1). Then the mix starts getting eclectic, almost like those Croatian records we get. I can say this is one of the best CDs to ever come to KZSU. Really interesting challenging, accessible beautiful stuff.

1) dreamy quiet intro, midway a nice beat arises and the song becomes the pinnacle of dreamy space rock
2) crazy vocals in the mix, but not like a Diamanda Galas taking it all over, just a good desperate mix of vocalizations with desperate and imposing heavy music
3) pretty guitar centered trippiness, just plain relaxing in a psychotic way
4) twisted blues, with harmonica, this aint blues, but it sure is messing with my head, especially when with about a minute left it turns noisey for a second then an acoustic mess
5) samples of children to start, a slow head nodding ode to how samples and noise can evolve into a good soulful rock and roll plod
6) triplet song-like, pleasant and dreamy but not full on dreampop/space rock
7) more of a psyche low fi jam in comparison, like the Velvet Underground with new equipment
8) rhythmic jam with little guitar melodies and texture, a “song”, accessible but dischordant enough in a Sonic Youth sorta fashion to make all of us weirdoes enjoy it, especially when the beast become hipgrinding and dancy!!!

Track Listing
1. Yahoo   5. Nulla Nanna
2. Galline   6. Help Me Grampa
3. Thru Crop Fields   7. Mr. Sandman
4. Ll Verme Solitario   8. The Bride Side