Yorkston, James / When The Haar Rolls In
Album: When The Haar Rolls In   Collection:General
Artist:Yorkston, James   Added:Nov 2008
Label:Domino Recording Company  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-02-22 Pull Date: 2009-04-26
Week Ending: Apr 26 Mar 29 Mar 22 Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 23, 2009: Happy Hour
Queen Of Spain
4. Mar 12, 2009: Songs of the Whale
Midnight Feast
2. Mar 24, 2009: Another PACC Appreciation Hour
Tortoise Regrets Hare
5. Mar 11, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
Queen Of Spain
3. Mar 17, 2009: Reelin' in the Years
Tortoise Regrets Hare
6. Mar 03, 2009: At the Cafe Subhemian
Midnight Feast

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2009-02-22
Baroque indie folk pop. The record company sent a raving review by Phil Selway of Radiohead, so maybe use it on the air? This is pretty good stuff; lush folk music with timpani, clarinets, violins, vibraphone, concertinas, pianos, mandolins, bouzoukis, banjos, and wine glasses on top of acoustic guitar. All songs seem to follow the structure of soft guitar beginning-->lush choruses/instrumentals, and cycles back and forth. The album is a bit spotty, but this is easy enough to like. FCC on 4

1. Lush folk, with harpsichord, accordion, piano, strings, cello?, backing male vocals come in at 2:45, choruses are rich(5:56)
*2. More upbeat pattern, percussion is present, backing female vocals, about tortoises, foxes, and hares?, woodwinds(3:58)
3. Melancholic, somewhat bitter, wonderful piano line, hypnotic chorus, strong lyrical focus on this song, bass is prominent in parts(4:29)
4. Title track, simple hook, deep vocals, storytelling, slow builder, horns, alternates between exploding into rich instrumentals with an almost Spanish feel to it and the softer strumming, backing woodwinds at times, FCC; one ‘fucking’, (6:55)
5. Rhythmic guitar, but laid back, prominent strings, backing female vox, almost a country feel to this one, lyrics and instrumentation reminds me of Okkervil River’s ‘A Stone’(5:25)
*6. Soaring choruses with female and male vocals, dark sound, sounds sort of like Andrew Bird but with a less commanding voice, rhythmic, driving song(6:37)
7. Tinny guitar, gentle vocals open, song then opens up with female vocals, rich instrumentation, ends somewhat abruptly, sweet swells of gracious moody beauty (3:20)
8. Personal lyrics, gentle strums, prominent woodwind solo, (4:09)
9. Longer track, builds to a climax with rhythmic guitars, pianos, woodwind interludes, tremolo picking, bittersweet melody, (8:32)

Track Listing
1. B's Jig   5. Queen Of Spain
2. Tortoise Regrets Hare   6. Midnight Feast
3. Temptation   7. Would You Have Me Born With Wooden Eyes?
4. When The Haar Rolls In   8. Summer's Not The Same Without You
  9. The Capture Of The Horse