Lee, Peggy Band / New Code
Album: New Code   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Lee, Peggy Band   Added:Jan 2009
Label:Drip Audio  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-07-19 Pull Date: 2009-09-20 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Sep 13 Aug 30 Aug 23 Aug 9 Aug 2 Jul 26
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 25, 2022: Traditions
All I Really Want To Do
4. Aug 28, 2009: Connecting Dots
Shifting Tide
2. Apr 26, 2012: Love Den
Shifting Tide
5. Aug 25, 2009: That's Not That's Not Bluegrass!
All I Really Want To Do
3. Sep 11, 2009: No Cover, No Minimum
Shifting Tide
6. Aug 22, 2009: Music Casserole

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-07-19
Cinematic, crane-shot jazz, accessible stuff with a glorious, big sound. Melodies that will appeal to contemporary jazz fans, with snippets of improvisation or strange cello/guitar sounds added as accessories. Sax and trumpet provide much of the melody; two electric guitars add a variety of sound moods from sublime to spiky. It's adventurous stuff that's often very pretty, not to be missed.

1- Brassy, melodic, and big, like the music for a Great Plains helicopter shot. Lovely solos. Inspiring (And collapses completely near the end!) A Dylan cover.
2- Strong, wistful melody appears halfway through, after some improv of small cave noises. Another one with a grand feel, and some very nice cello soloing that shows off a strong tone.
3- Abstract improv. Bright and busy but relatively low key.
4- Quiet start, into some psych electric guitar rambling that becomes a noisy freakout. SEGUES into:
5- Gently chiming acoustic guitar, sad theme. Pretty, but opens with the abrasive ending of 4.
6- Trumpet+cello improv, fairly fast and theatrical
7- Happily abstract, almost jaunty.
8- Grand midtempo theme with some jazzy turns. Really pretty backing for trumpet solo.
9- Improv: guitar sounds like tinkling glass; sax in small warm curls. Abstract but rather nice.
10- Slow, simple, sad melody.
11- Unfolds slowly into a nice melody under a sax solo. A wide open, flowing feel.
12- Slow, like a closing-credits goodnight. A Kurt Weill cover.

Track Listing
1. All I Really Want To Do   7. Scribbl Town
2. Preparations   8. Tug
3. Offshoot 1   9. Offshoot 3
4. Not A Wake Up Call   10. Walk Me Through
5. Floating Island   11. Shifting Tide
6. Offshoot 2   12. Lost In The Stars