Iyer, Vijay / Tragicomic
Album: Tragicomic   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Iyer, Vijay   Added:Jan 2009
Label:Sunnyside Communications  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-19 Pull Date: 2009-06-21 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 21 Jun 14 Jun 7 May 24 May 10 Apr 26
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 20, 2016: Rebop
Age Of Everything
4. Jun 20, 2009: No Cover, No Minimum: Weekend Edition
Window Text
2. Sep 18, 2009: No Cover, No Minimum: Monterey Jazz Edition
Comin' Up
5. Jun 19, 2009: Memory Select
Age Of Everything
3. Sep 04, 2009: Memory Select
Comin' Up
6. Jun 12, 2009: Memory Select

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-04-12
Strong piano-led quartet with a deeply modern sound that still ties back to the jazz tradition. Iyer plays with a thunderous and percussive bent, informed by drum machines and electronica -- but this is still an acoustic album, one with a richly organic feel. Look for stern, eye-opening themes, followed by solo spaces that keep the same logic (as opposed to being abstract free-for-alls) while stretching outward. Quieter moments bring Iyer closer to a traditional piano-jazz sound, but there's little here that you'd call loungy. It's a middle point between the sternness of hte trio Fieldwork and Iyer's earlier, more mainstream albums like "Memorophilia." Instrumental; FCC clean.

Iyer (piano)
Rudresh Mahanthappa (sax)
Stephan Crump (bass)
Marcus Gilmore (drums)

1- Slow build. Grand intro.
2- A fast babble, attention-grabbing.
3- Deep and foreboding, almost prog-rock! Mid/fast; gets emotional.
4- Richly rolling riff, mid/fast.
5- Quiet start, into some neat little statements between sax and piano. Give it some time.
6- Slowish
7- Jaunty, some South African sun, but in an odd time sig.
8- An airy feel over some deep pulsing at the start. Rather nice.
9- Surprisingly nice, almost loungy.
10- Rapid pace; stern jumbly sax & piano. Some really nice piano work, not at all "machine"-like
11- Ballad-like (quiet) but heavy. Gets sharply intense later.
12- A foreboding semi-ballad with heavy subtext.

Track Listing
1. The Weight Of Things   7. Age Of Everything
2. Macaca Please   8. Window Text
3. Aftermath   9. I'm All Smiles
4. Comin' Up   10. Machine Days
5. Without Lions   11. Threnody
6. Mehndi   12. Becoming