Fol Chen / Part I: John Shade, Your Fortune's Made
Album: Part I: John Shade, Your Fortune's Made   Collection:General
Artist:Fol Chen   Added:Feb 2009
Label:Asthmatic Kitty Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-05-10 Pull Date: 2009-07-12
Week Ending: Jun 28 Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 26, 2009: Music Casserole
Please, John, You're Killing Me
4. May 20, 2009: KZSU's Heartbleeps
The Believers
2. Jun 02, 2009: tomayto and tomahto
Please, John, You're Killing Me
5. May 19, 2009: 408's Finest
No Wedding Cake
3. May 26, 2009: Tomayto and Tomahto
No Wedding Cake
6. May 19, 2009: tomayto and tomahto
The Idiot

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-05-04
Fol Chen: “Part I: John Shade Your Fortune’s Made” The music can certainly be described as electro-pop – you can hear it in the nerdy, giddy vox and the synth. But the music is dramatic and extremely layered, setting it apart from others. They use diverse strings, drum machines, multiple voices and horns to give their music a texture and operatic quality not found in lots of electro-pop out today. Interesting fact: they refuse to show their faces in press images and proclaim that they sound like "that mysterious black object that the creepy family is staring at on the cover of Led Zeppelin's "Presence" album.” album.” How cryptic! Start with 2, 4, 6, 9
FCC 3 and 7

1) * Haunting vocals, synth, horns, repetitive plucking; picks up w/ thudding percussion
2) ** peppy piano & drum machine hand claps, intermittent guitar a la Vampire Weekend
3) FCC “Fuck” slow strums, deep tuba bellows; melancholy feel turns into dark noise
4) ** oooo what nice,soulful harmonies!; peppy, slappy percussion, nice horn work
5) mixed sounds reminiscent of the chopped up radio transmission that starts the song off
6) ** upbeat, driving track; banging percussion, 80s arcade synth, communal vocals
7) * FCC “Fuck” cd’s single; sitar, computer bleeps are the basis of this danceable track
8) *8 shoegazy country music; trance like with great string work & a strong chorus
9) **upbeat; peppy bleeps,mixed with some creepy raspy vox alongside a falsetto
10) more country twang in the strings here; a mix of soft strums & epic musical builds

Track Listing
1. The Believers   6. Over Garden City
2. No Wedding Cake   7. Winter, That's All
3. You And Your Sister In Jericho   8. Cable Tv
4. The Idiot   9. Please, John, You're Killing Me
5. Red Skies   10. The Longer U Wait
  11. If Tuesday Comes