We Is Shore Dedicated / Rhinoceroses
Album: Rhinoceroses   Collection:General
Artist:We Is Shore Dedicated   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Huevo Imaginary Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-05-24 Pull Date: 2009-07-26
Week Ending: Jul 19 Jun 14 Jun 7 May 31
Airplays: 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 07, 2023: Music Casserole
Time Of The Wolves
4. Jun 10, 2009: KZSU's Heartbleeps
Caetano Veloso
2. Aug 06, 2009: Happy Hour
Bad Apples/U.S. Plums
5. Jun 02, 2009: Indie Flavored Kool-Aid
Things Fall Apart
3. Jul 17, 2009: Memory Select, guest Rent Romus
Caetano Veloso
6. May 30, 2009: Mark Kozelek's Wrist Cutting Hour
Lonesome Liar Dancing In The Tree

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-05-19
"Art-prog" from the Bay Area, featuring excellent musicianship from its clearly talented members: Sam Tsitrin (from local band The Ebb and Flow), Dimitry Ishenko (jazz/funk bassist from NYC), and Christopher Cline (from local band Scrabbel). A lot of the tracks sound the same, midtempo with liberal use of organ; jazzy guitars and basslines. Sound is very lush and full for the relatively few instruments making up most of the tracks. Many tracks are carried by the band's technical skills rather than creative ideas or interesting melodies. Main vocalist's voice is sneery and nasally, pretty distinct.
No FCCs detected.
Picks: 1, 2, 13

**1- (4:01) Electronic sounds at beginning; organ, electric guitar, great bassline throughout; sneering, nasally vocals (they work well), electronic blips and strings come in at the end.
*2- (3:53) Loud drumming, acoustic strumming; dark sounding, much of song is in a different language; I'm guessing it's Portuguese because it's titled Caetano Veloso (Brazilian singer-songwriter).
3- (2:48) Noise introduces, before piano and country influenced ballad begin.
4- (3:53) Loud drumming at beginning, jazzy track follows.
5- (5:17) Circus polka music opens track and leads rhythm of song. Three minutes in everything slows down and quiets.
6- (1:08) Accordion and drum interlude.
7- (4:05) Rocking, uptempo track. Slows at 1:20 but builds up even louder than before.
8- (5:14) Jazzy, slow for the first 2 minutes, loud with crashing cymbals for the next 2, than a return to quietude.
9- (3:14) Acoustic number, backing vocals present unlike most tracks; subdued until a loud ending with harmonica.
10- (4:53) Midtempo with accordion, cowbell; crunching guitars throughout and some spacy noises at the end.
11- (1:59) Pretty bad, sounds like music playing from a radio in a car going down a road in the desert in a comedy the whole family can enjoy.
12- (2:03) Creeping instrumental, bass + piano + accordion.
*13- (3:23) Synths in the place of organs or accordion, good melodies throughout.
14- (2:11) Eight seconds of banter then (presumably Ukrainian) vocals come in, alongside accordion, bass, occasional acoustic guitar, to close out album.

Track Listing
1. Time Of The Wolves   8. Zebra Polosa
2. Caetano Veloso   9. Muncie, In
3. The Rev   10. Kontroll Gun
4. Bad Apples/U.S. Plums   11. Botumbles
5. 3rd Love   12. For Steve For Now
6. Lonesome Liar Dancing In The Tree   13. Things Fall Apart
7. Kid Nap Attempt   14. (Hidden Track)