Artist Of The Year / Wreck In Discotheque
Album: Wreck In Discotheque   Collection:General
Artist:Artist Of The Year   Added:Apr 2009
Label:Universal Canada  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-26 Pull Date: 2009-06-28 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jun 21 May 17
Airplays: 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 14, 2009: The Twilight Zone
3. May 13, 2009: KZSU's Heartbleeps
In My Room
2. May 16, 2009: Lost and Found
It Is Time For Le Party
4. May 12, 2009: 408's Finest

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-06-12
Artist of the Year – Wreck in Discoteque
Reviewed by Sadie O., 4/15/09
Electronic funk from Montreal. Heavy on the farts and squeeeps, but the beats are good. At their best, they seem to be taking a page from the Pinkertones manual, but I found it so farty it was hard to listen all the way through.
FCCs all over track 7. I like track 1 best, then 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12.
1. 2:45 ****slow boingy funk. Gnarly bottom end, if you know what I mean, and I think you do. Switches to groovy mellow beat with “mmmm”s.
2. 3:09 ***processed vocals switching channels, midtempo blatty funk with percussion that scratches the inside of your brain case.
3. 3:49 **fast scratchy guitar sounds and claps, jungle beat. Builds in noisiness, ends with harmonica.
4. 3:43 **midtempo electronic grunts, old school funk beat with just a hint of video game. Might be just a tad TOO farty…
5. 3:22 ***very jolly midtempo disco-funk. Stops for electronic screaming.
6. 3:12 ***midtempo 4/4 with complicated farting.
7. 1:56 FCC: “FUCK” many times. *weird… human talking, and acoustic guitar. Very strange, after all the farting! Quite sweet, midtempo, samba-jazzy. Falsetto, quite obscene vocals.
8. 2:01 ***uptempo cool beat, squeeps and “aaa aaa a-a” vocals. Kinda sorta lounge-y.
9. 3:14 **uptempo, glitchy, all on the high end. A few seconds of silence, then uptempo funk with more bass, but still rather restrained. Glitchy farts get more aggressive.
10. 4:15 ***uptempo, all percussion, quite complex. Adds instruments prettily, until the farting starts. Still, the beat is quite nice.
11. 3:28 **midtempo farty disco beat. Some chant about groupies. Grotty!
12. 4:02 ***midtempo funk with whoops (and farts). Whee! Uh oh. There’s a monster on the dance floor. I hate that!
13. 1:17 **hand claps and falsetto vocals, a bit of funk guitar. Goofy and cute.
14. 16:49 (starts with spoken “oh Jesus…”) ***midtempo laid-back soul-funk with keyboards. And fairly painful farts. Silence from about 3:33 to 13:14, then glitchy uptempo insects. Metallic processed speaking (in French, I think) and laughter… Huh. Swingy stuff for last minute or so.

Track Listing
1. Mmmmm....   8. Haha
2. It Is Time For Le Party   9. You Gave Me A Stroke On The Dancefloor
3. Yeah!!!   10. Bikini Zone
4. It Ain't Tight Enuff   11. Lead Swinger
5. If It Ain't Dirty It Ain't Fun   12. Fun Factor
6. Big Night   13. In My Room
7. Sorry Honey   14. Le Love