Crystal Antlers / Tentacles
Album: Tentacles   Collection:General
Artist:Crystal Antlers   Added:Apr 2009
Label:Touch and Go  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-19 Pull Date: 2009-06-21
Week Ending: Jun 21 Jun 7 May 24 May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26
Airplays: 1 2 3 1 3 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 05, 2016: A Visit From Drum
Time Erased
4. Nov 06, 2009: The DJ Never Has It
Time Erased
2. Sep 07, 2011: don't hate me because i'm beautiful
Several Tongues
5. Jun 17, 2009: Signal to Noise
Painless Sleep
3. Apr 10, 2010: Music Cassrole
Time Erased
6. Jun 05, 2009: Emphysema For Emphasis

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2009-04-10
Crazed rock. Theres a certain scary feel to it like the Phantom Limbs (see afile) cuz of the “carnival” organ, but its more along the lines of whacked out “traditional” weird bands, like maybe The Apes (remember them? Isn’t it time you went to the CD drawers?). Tempo changes, crazed male vocals screamed, but really good guitar playing if you listen close, twangy with interesting chords and composition. Recorded locally at Closer Studios by the genius of the likes of Joe Goldring and Tim Mooney. Original releases were connected to Mars Volta which makes sense. Chicago label Touch and Go knows a good band when they hear them. Rock on.

1) organ and disjunct galloping drums enter fray, instrumental
2) crazed vocals and intense yet head nodding enough to keep it sexy
3) spastic and driving, tempo changes but a certain jazzy beat to it all, great!
4) mostly a triplet/waltz with spazz
5) kind of an ambient intro, cool experimental slow phrased weirdness, instrumental
6) rocker with double time 4/4 making it feel like its gonna fly off turntable at any second
7) awesome ethereal noise not-so-much “bed” but roof, slower swinging thing
8) epic big banging parts that ebb and flow
9) kind of a normal beat and feel, huh?
10) very brief
11) triplet epic feel, with male vocals
12) mid paced mo
head swingy with drum fills and a ballady feel 13) a more experimental feel til midway (!3:30 remain) then a pounding type drum beat appears that goes completely crazed, everyone else follows suit for a “free-jazz-noise-rock-extravaganza” that returns to a more “normal” feel

Track Listing
1. Painless Sleep   7. Until The Sun Dies (Part One)
2. Dust   8. Memorized
3. Time Erased   9. Glacier
4. Andrew   10. Foot Of The Mountain
5. Vapor Trail   11. Your Spears
6. Tentacles   12. Swollen Sky
  13. Several Tongues