Commander Cody / Dopers, Drunks And Everyday Losers
Album: Dopers, Drunks And Everyday Losers   Collection:General
Artist:Commander Cody   Added:May 2009
Label:Blind Pig Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-09 Pull Date: 2009-10-11
Week Ending: Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 13 Sep 6 Aug 30 Aug 23
Airplays: 1 3 4 3 3 5 9 5

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 20, 2023: Traditions
Seeds And Stems Again
4. Jul 02, 2016: The Iron Skillet
Wine Do Your Stuff
2. Mar 25, 2022: Traditions
No No Song
5. Jun 22, 2013: The Iron Skillet
Seeds And Stems Again
3. Dec 17, 2016: The Iron Skillet
Tennessee Plates
6. May 04, 2013: The Iron Skillet
They Kicked Me Out Of The Band

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-08-10
Commander Cody – Dopers, Drunks, etc.
Reviewed by Sadie O., 7/31/09
High octane roadhouse rockin’ songs about precisely what the title says, which is the Commander’s favorite material. The Commander’s been doing what they’ve come to call “Americana” since the early days of the Fillmore, and he’s ridiculously good at it. He used to do shows at a little bar in San Rafael that were the wildest things I’ve ever seen (and that’s including every punk rock show in SF from 76-80, too) – looking back, I can’t believe I never got a DUI on the way home… Crazy, wild stuff – and perfect rock and roll. This makes me VERY happy (and Bill will be glad we’ve got all these drug songs…)
No FCCs, but lots of sex and drugs and rock and roll. All GREAT.
1. 3:51 ***hard-driving roadhouse country swing with slide guitar and lots of rock ‘n’ roll piano, philosophizin’ about joints.
2. 3:27 **rock ‘n’ roll with chugging guitar and a bit of farfisa. Slice o’ life drama straight from the road.
3. 2:46 ***midtempo two-step with slide and pedal steel – absolutely classic country drinking song.
4. 3:28 **high energy hard rock, gruff vocals, innuendo. Funny stuff!
5. 2:18 **fast two-step, fine cover of a classic trucking-and-pill-poppin’ toon.
6. 3:32 ***uptempo bopper, early 60’s style, fractured chorus.
7. 3:31 ***uptempo rock ‘n’ roll with guitar and dueling keyboards. Excellent lyrics!
8. 4:39 ****slow countrified blues – female guest vocalist on one of the Commander’s most beloved songs. A real heart-wringer!
9. 3:39 ***crazy swinging midtempo barrelhouse rock. Great lyrics, and some killer piano work.
10. 3:00 **midtempo rock ‘n’ roll – fairly relaxed for the Commander.
11. 3:14 ***downtempo chugging rock ‘n’ roll, another classic.
12. 2:26 ***uptempo boogie woogie rock ‘n’ roll piano.
13. 2:53 **old-timey shuffle bop with brushes on the drums.
14. 3:01 ****excellent downtempo old-cowboy-Mexico-style syncopated shuffle, great drug song by Hoyt Axton of all people…

Track Listing
1. Roll Yer Own   8. Seeds And Stems Again
2. Tennessee Plates   9. It's Gonna Be One Of Those Nights
3. Wine Do Your Stuff   10. Ok Hotel
4. Lone Ranger   11. They Kicked Me Out Of The Band
5. Semi Truck   12. Loser's Avenue
6. Down And Out   13. Last Call For Alcohol
7. Seven Eleven   14. No No Song