Sclavis, Louis / Lost On The Way
Album:Lost On The Way Collection:Jazz
Artist:Sclavis, Louis Added:Jun 2009
Label:Ecm Records (Jazz) 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2009-08-02 Pull Date:2009-10-04 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Sep 20Sep 13Sep 6Aug 30Aug 23Aug 9

Recent Airplay
1.Apr 13, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum
De Charybde En Scylla
4.Sep 11, 2009:No Cover, No Minimum
Un Vent Noir
2.Dec 14, 2012:No Cover, No Minimum
Un Vent Noir
5.Sep 06, 2009:Transmission Overload
De Charybde En Scylla
3.Sep 13, 2009:Transmission Overload
Un Vent Noir
6.Sep 04, 2009:Memory Select
Bain D'or

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-08-01 
LOUIS SCLAVIS: Lost on the Way
ECM, 2009

POSTMODERN JAZZ – Eclectic French clarinetist/saxophonist with a wide-ranging “euro-jazz” sound, here presenting tunes inspired by Homer’s Odyssey. Unusual angles, staggered rhythms and complex twists suggest the hero’s general disorientation, but the music is fairly accessible with many hints of other genres hovering at the edges.

Louis Sclavis - clarinets, soprano sax
Matthieu Metzger - saxophones
Maxime Delpierre - guitar
Olivier Lété - bass
François Merville - drums

* * * * | Fo’s Picks: 1, 4, 7, 8, 9

1. 5:31 – uptempo with a perky/twisty melody; spinning clarinet, angular sax
2. 1:27 – improvisational clarinet/bass duet, mysterious & spacious
3. 6:39 – angular, biting horn lines over low bass & clomping rhythm
4. 6:01 – obliquely folksy, unspools from a simple bounce; electric bass solo
5. 7:21 – fog-bound start, questioning horns; becomes tense & menacing later
6. 4:16 – relaxed counterpoint melody; slow and mysterious clarinet solo
7. 5:49 – creeping bass pulse, horns tiptoe over prickly guitar, echoing effects
8. 6:49 – close-harmony intro, strange gliding shuffle, 2nd half cute & sneaky
9. 3:39 – cool serious sound: bell-like pattern; clarinet on top, picks up groove
10. 1:22 – solo bass interlude, thoughtful with a few swift runs
11. 5:21 – trudging rhythm vs. sing-song horns… guitar & drums win! Then…
12. 2:24 – …lyrical unison melody builds up over a soft drone

[ Fo ] 08/01/09

Track Listing
1.De Charybde En Scylla 7.Aboard Ulysses's Boat
2.La Première Île 8.Les Doutes Du Cyclope
3.Lost On The Way 9.Un Vent Noir
4.Bain D'or 10.The Last Island
5.Le Sommeil Des Sirènes 11.Des Bruits À Tisser
6.L'heure Des Songes 12.L'absence