Jónsi & Alex / Riceboy Sleeps
Album: Riceboy Sleeps   Collection:General
Artist:Jónsi & Alex   Added:Aug 2009
Label:Xl Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-11-08 Pull Date: 2010-01-10
Week Ending: Jan 10 Dec 13 Dec 6 Nov 29 Nov 15
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 15, 2012: A Family Affair
Atlas Song
4. Jan 03, 2010: Folktronic
Indian Summer, Atlas Song
2. Apr 11, 2010: Folktronic
Sleeping Giant
5. Dec 06, 2009: FLASHBANG RADIO (BE/WOR)ST OF 2009
Boy 1904
3. Feb 11, 2010: Folktronic
6. Dec 04, 2009: The DJ Never Has It
Atlas Song

Album Review
Colin Raffel
Reviewed 2009-11-01
Group consisting of Jonsi from Sigur Rós and his boyfriend Alex.. As a comparison, this is like sigur rós without the drums, singing, or guitar, except it's not minimal. Really pretty, warm and well-crafted ambient music. Some electronics as well as traditional instruments. Not a whole lot of rhythm but the songs are well structured. It's been shown that if you listen to this while you sleep you'll have REALLY GOOD DREAMS. Vocals can get cheesy but seriously great music that I hesitate to call ambient because there's more to it than that. If only sigur rós made songs like this all along. No FCCs (all words are in "hopelandic").
*** 1) Orchestral swirling with reverb, synths etc then just strings, then some environmental sound and a soft piano out.
2) Starts with glitched piano and then softness comes in, some horns and other electronics/ambience. Singing comes in. It all washes together, then fades to singing and fireworks.
3) Piano and distorted echos. Maybe turns into music box sounds, then orchestral stuff and traditional sigur rós singing, outro is a really long-held vocal note.
*** 4) Repeating piano sequence with strings leads into choral singing. Meshes together and then some clicks, and really long-sustained string sounds.
5) Grainy clicks and reverb leads into basically church-like vocals. Turns to reverb.
*** 6) Pianos and field recording fade into glitched strings then back into pianos and field recordings. Leads into the next track...
*** 7) ... from the previous track to choral swirls swells and clicks
*** 8) Electronic swells and strums, static, and more field recordings, fades out then back in with choral singing, then organs and electronic animal growling.
*** 9) Lots of organ-like drones, static and clicking

Track Listing
1. Happiness   5. Boy 1904
2. Atlas Song   6. All The Big Trees
3. Indian Summer   7. Daniell In The Sea
4. Stekkseyri   8. Howl
  9. Sleeping Giant