Make Me / House Of Brakes
Album: House Of Brakes   Collection:General
Artist:Make Me   Added:Aug 2009

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-01-10 Pull Date: 2010-03-14
Week Ending: Feb 28 Feb 14 Feb 7 Jan 31 Jan 24 Jan 17
Airplays: 1 2 3 2 5 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 27, 2010: Scatterbrain Radio
4. Feb 06, 2010: Three Chords Only
2. Feb 13, 2010: Scatterbrain Radio
5. Feb 04, 2010: in the groove
Stop-Sign Man
3. Feb 07, 2010: The Knife
6. Jan 31, 2010: FLASH BANG RADIO
Black Ants

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-01-04
Female-driven pop-punk from Oakland, with a healthy emphasis on the pop. All vocals are nice and kind of raw but have a somewhat limited vocal range. This four-piece also sounds somewhat panicky, like a less-fleshed-out version of Los Campesinos! Lots of songs are upbeat and catchy, but still retain an edgy flavor.

FCC: 1 (fuck) TRY: 5,2,6

1. Scratchy guitars, frenzied drumming. Too bad it has multiple FCCs
2. Strong bouncy bassline intro, edgy female vocals with male backing. Interspersed with distorted guitar solos and little keyboard ditties.
3. Synth-driven track. Lyrics a little cheesy (lots of cheery “HEY!”s and “ALRIGHT!”s) but a solid pop-rocker with some nice gritty guitar.
4. Nice washes of noise guitar and very clear, crisp vocals. Strong bass strumming and upbeat bouncy guitar arpeggios.
5. Loud, echoing guitars, quick, sharp drumming and lots of female/male vocal interaction. Chimes give it a great epic effect. This track’s quick tempo and emotional vocals give it a very dramatic feeling of urgency.
6. Slow piano ballad intro. Name-drops Christopher Robin. I dunno… Then it slowly builds into a pretty straightforward mid-tempo rock song that still retains a lot of the piano elements. Four minutes in, the song takes another turn and becomes a quick-driven punk song which eventually tapers off back into a piano ballad. (Note: this song is 6:48—not a bad thing, but just FYI)
7. Short, cheery poppy song with goofy lyrics about a stop-sign with a pronounced interest in the opposite sex.
8. Grungy guitar lines with xylophone riffs, and lots of group chanting the phrase “one thousand.” Heavy drumming.
9. Slow, atmospheric and moody. The lack of background instruments almost seems to highlight the imperfections in the singer’s intonation. But there is some great noisy guitar with tons of eerie effects. (Song ends at 2:07. Then there is an additional 15 seconds of silence and then 5 seconds of a ringing telephone. Go figure…)

Track Listing
1. Valley Fever   5. Matters
2. Black Ants   6. Ru486
3. Sirens   7. Stop-Sign Man
4. Precious   8. 1,000
  9. Youth Without Youth