Healey, Jeff / Songs From The Road
Album: Songs From The Road   Collection:Blues
Artist:Healey, Jeff   Added:Oct 2009
Label:Ruf Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-12-13 Pull Date: 2010-02-14 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Feb 7 Jan 31 Jan 24 Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27 Dec 20
Airplays: 1 3 4 2 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 04, 2010: in the groove
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
4. Jan 27, 2010: public noize racket
Whipping Post
2. Jan 30, 2010: The Knife
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
5. Jan 21, 2010: in the groove
Teach Your Children Well
3. Jan 28, 2010: in the groove
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
6. Jan 20, 2010: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Come Together

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-12-16
This is one of the most refreshing records I’ve heard in such a long time. Good, familiar straight up blues. It’s a compilation of some of Healey’s best songs played live, mostly blues covers delivered pretty faithful to the originals. Obviously guitar solos abound all throughout the album, which is very much a talent showcase for Healey’s guitar playing ability. Apt for anyone who likes the blues. FCC clean. Try 1, 5, 6 and if you listen to it before hand, 8.
*1. Amazing electrifying guitar that feels like a shot of energy and takes center stage. Amazing!!!
2. Lonely deep voice. Sounds like something you’d hear in a bar.
3. Blues, plain and simple, as it were meant to sound. Raw sound, amazing solo.
4. Slow ballad. OK song but not the best on the record. Too…sweet.
*5. Possibly one of the best covers of “Come Together” I’ve heard. Classic redone in the right way.
*6. Power song. It’s on fire!! Huge amount of energy delivered through solos. Showcase of ability, though.
7. Classic song reinterpreted with blues guitar solo’s. Very much in the mood of the CD, but not as good as some other tracks on it.
8. Almost unrecognizable at the beginning of the song. Some lyrics sung by the crowd, which doesn’t sound too good. Shame though, because guitar solo’s are some of the best on the record, not overdone like on other tracks.
9. So-so. The original sounds better.
10. Excessive delivery of solo’s, but an ok song in general.
11. Stunning last track. Sometimes sounds just like Elvis. Devoid of lofty solo’s.

Track Listing
1. Think I Love You Too Much   6. Hoochie Coochie Man
2. I'm Ready   7. White Room
3. Stop Breaking Down   8. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
4. Angel Eyes   9. Whipping Post
5. Come Together   10. Teach Your Children Well
  11. Santa, Bring My Baby Back To Me