Girls / Album
Album: Album   Collection:General
Artist:Girls   Added:Oct 2009
Label:True Panther Sounds  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-11-29 Pull Date: 2010-01-31
Week Ending: Jan 31 Jan 24 Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27 Dec 20 Dec 13
Airplays: 2 3 3 5 1 4 4 11

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 03, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Hellhole Ratrace
4. Nov 02, 2017: veggie tales
Lust For Life
2. Oct 14, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Hellhole Ratrace
5. Oct 13, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Hellhole Ratrace
3. Apr 01, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Hellhole Ratrace
6. Mar 24, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Hellhole Ratrace

Album Reviews
Red West
Reviewed 2009-12-17
Don't trust the stars next to track 6! "Hellhole Ratrace" is twice as long as it needs to be, and you'll be regretting the second half. It's derivative, unoriginal, and belabors its emo whine for four minutes of your life that you won't get back.

Play it if you want, all I'm sayin' is have your next track ready so you can end this when it starts getting old.
Reviewed 2009-11-20
Play. This. Record. San Francisco boys hit the (indie circuit) big time; they don’t need our spins for fame anymore, but, our audience should hear these songs. Sunny, warm pop, reminiscent of 60s girl group sounds w/ the voice of Elvis Costello. “Lust for Life” (track #1) is the standout single; I edited the “fucks” out to make it FCC-friendly. RIYL: Ariel Pink, Kurt Vile, Phil Spector.

01.**** Unstoppable pop goodness; think Beach Boys, Ramones, playing frisbee on the beach with your best friends. (2:25)
02.*** Post-breakup “let’s be friends” tune. Catchy, bouncy verse with an irresistible hook. (4:52)
03.** Sugary-sweet like an early Phil Spector love song (3:12)
04. Pretty acoustic guitar intro, shuffling beat. (2:18)
05. FCC. Might as well be the Beach Boys, + noise and “mthrfckr.” (2:16)
06.**** Slow-build dreamer w/ an incredible hook and chorus, poignant lyrics, noise-washed finish. (6:57)
07. Melody like a 50s pop ballad, production like 90s dream-pop. (4:00)
08.*** Thrumming, pounding beat and bassline w/ a catchy hook. (5:40)
09.** Softer, slower ballad; builds to a noisy conclusion. (4:58)
10.** Blatant rip-off of Sonic Youth’s “Mote,” with far better, MBV-ish vox. (2:37)
11. Pretty instrumental (2:08)
12. Country blues number w/ some twang. (3:00)

Track Listing
1. Lust For Life   7. Headache
2. Laura   8. Summertime
3. Ghost Mouth   9. Lauren Marie
4. God Damned   10. Morning Light
5. Big Bad Mean Motherfucker   11. Curls
6. Hellhole Ratrace   12. Darling