Fonda/Stevens Group, The / Memphis
Album: Memphis   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Fonda/Stevens Group, The   Added:Oct 2009
Label:Playscape Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-12-20 Pull Date: 2010-02-21 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Feb 14 Jan 31 Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 12, 2010: Mittens & Scarves
For My Brother
4. Jan 15, 2010: Memory Select, new friday time
For My Brother
2. Jan 29, 2010: Mittens & SCARVES
Memphis Ramble
5. Jan 12, 2010: The Rock Lobster
Memphis Ramble
3. Jan 29, 2010: The Rent Party
Yes This Is It!
6. Jan 05, 2010: Memory Select
Changing Tides

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-12-21
Inside/out modern jazz from a longstanding group led by Joe Fonda (bass) and Michael Jefry Stevens (piano), with veterans Herb Robertson (trumpet) and Harvey Sorgan (drums). Glossy, melodic airs with lots of room for adventure in the composing and the solos. Tracks carry a good tension and drama; the piano favors breezy jazz chords that wouldn't disturb anyone's dinner, but this isn't lounge music.

1- Halting, jerking theme. Nicely jittery piano
2- Slow. Gentle ocean waves.
3- Mid/fast. Nicely tense opening
4- Mid/fast. Perky trumpet early on
5- Glossy, pretty. A very "open" feel, with some strong piano/bass riffage later
6- Slightly tough, digging piano theme. Trumpet gets a growly, airy solo.
7- With lyrics! Group sings a catchy refrain in unpolished "guy" vocals. Instrumental intro uses the theme to poetic effect. (It's also the longest track, at 9:26)
8- Slowish, cerebral
9- Bluesy fun. More singing, a more drunken group feel. Rocks out in an easygoing way.
10- Rolling mid/fast feel, lots of action, some tension

Track Listing
1. In The Whitecage   6. Yes This Is It!
2. For My Brother   7. There Is A Very Fine Line Between Your Life And Mine
3. Looking For The Lake   8. Whale Majesty
4. Changing Tides   9. Memphis Ramble
5. The Path   10. Break Song