Brom, Rafael / Refugee From Socialism
Album: Refugee From Socialism   Collection:General
Artist:Brom, Rafael   Added:Oct 2009

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-11-22 Pull Date: 2010-01-24
Week Ending: Jan 3 Dec 13 Dec 6 Nov 29
Airplays: 1 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 04, 2015: The Final Sunset
I Am Refugee From Socialism
4. Jan 24, 2012: meow
I Am Refugee From Socialism
2. Nov 06, 2012: post election dryer
America Beautiful Place, I Am Refugee From Socialism
5. Jan 21, 2012: Catharsis
I Am Refugee From Socialism
3. Oct 12, 2012: Late Night Dryer
I Am Refugee From Socialism
6. Jan 20, 2012: Songs: Cantan
I Am Refugee From Socialism

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-11-19
Biggest wtf of my career at KZSU. Ultra patriotic acoustic christian new age outsider pooorly grammared music with multitracked vocals of a non-singer. This is the happiest most patriotic man in the country. He probably works at a post office and is smiling 40 hours a week. He enjoyed capitalism by buying a studio recording session with the person who produces the covers of 80s songs for asian karaoke bars, maybe john tesh or yanni impostor, or maybe just used the top 10 most common effects from garage band. Took guitar lessons from Estebans tapes from the QVC network.s The songs are long and go nowhere dramatically. Don't know if this is actually some clueless vietnamese refugee, or a super tongue in cheek prank. It's bad, but doesn't sound much worse than some of the worst shoegazers, new age music, christian music, acoustic indie whinesters. This fits real well with your set. fcc clean.

1- "i am refugee from socialism," he is free from godless social medicine and godless dictatorship. call and response vocals with himself, but echoed. total new age delay production, acoustic. stretches on for 8 whole good minutes.
2- minor key sawtooth synth odyssey across the purple mountain majesties and fruited plane. about how "america is beautiful place." bird noises at 4:20.
3-hillarious thunderstorm intro. about how they will take your money, your freedom away, all the great things about living in a socialist state.
4-hymn, rafael brom is kingdom come.
5-america you will never die, it wil live in our hearts. actually kind of sounds like slowdive. drops a rush limbaugh shoutout. 'remembering great ronald reagan.'
6- america will be great again. who said america wasn't great, punk.
7- oooh spritiaul gifts. music for buying overpriced incense. echoey repetition of sacraments is frightening.
8-megasynth take on glory hallelujah. why he is always smiling while he sits behind the counter at the post office.

Track Listing
1. I Am Refugee From Socialism   5. America Will Never Die
2. America Beautiful Place   6. America Will Be Great Again
3. Open Your Eyes   7. Spiritual Gifts And Way
4. God Have Mercy Onus Here   8. Glory Alleluia