Prieto, Dafnis Si O Si Quartet / Live At Jazz Standard Nyc
Album:Live At Jazz Standard Nyc Collection:Jazz
Artist:Prieto, Dafnis Si O Si Quartet Added:Nov 2009
Label:Dafnison Music 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2009-12-13 Pull Date:2010-02-14 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Feb 14Jan 17Jan 10Jan 3Dec 20

Recent Airplay
1.Feb 25, 2023:Music Casserole
4.Feb 12, 2010:No Cover, No Minimum
Si O Si
2.Jul 28, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum: Friday Edition
3 Poems 1 Song
5.Jan 15, 2010:No Cover, No Minimum
3.Oct 22, 2011:Music Casserole
Trio Absolute
6.Jan 12, 2010:The Rock Lobster

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-12-13 
Dafnison, 2009

MODERN JAZZ – Drummer/composer Prieto, who really needs to be considered among the top creative forces in mainstream jazz right now, has an excellent band here, featuring Peter Apfelbaum on saxes and Manuel Valera on piano. Touches of fusion, dollops of modern Latin rhythm, and a general spirit of inventive camaraderie mark the sound.

Peter Apfelbaum - tenor & soprano sax, bass melodica
Manuel Valera - piano, keyboard, melodica
Charles Flores - acoustic & electric bass
Dafnis Prieto - drums, vocal, clave

* * * * | Fo’s Picks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10

1. 8:34 – upbeat, spinning theme: sax pokes gently, piano & drums twirl
2. 5:10 – speedy, tense and spiraling; firms up under sax, piano winds it tight
3. 7:47 – low and mysterious with melodica; bass & drum solos
4. 8:22 – upbeat, darting; straight jazz sound, but tricky rhythm; fluid solos
5. 9:56 – ballad piano intro; then slow wailing sax: a deep, serious sound
6. 9:10 – uptempo, muscular tune, flashy piano / perky swoop into sax honking
7. 9:02 – elec bass intro, hopscotch theme; keyboard give & take; warm solos
8. 7:05 – lumpy ballad: quiet drums, moody horns, languid piano; drifts softly
9. 1:54 – vocal percussion + clave interlude: kind of cool on its own…
10. 7:24 – percussion intro kicks off a happy trio jam: no horns, but lotsa drums

[ Fo ] 12/13/09

Track Listing
1.Si O Si 6.3 Poems 1 Song
2.Claveteo 7.Me Neither
3.Seven By Seven 8.Thoughts
4.Ilu-Uli 9.Into Absolute
5.Just Go 10.Trio Absolute