Corporate Whores, The / Voodoo Economics
Album: Voodoo Economics   Collection:General
Artist:Corporate Whores, The   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Disillusion Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-02-14 Pull Date: 2010-04-18
Week Ending: Apr 4 Mar 28 Mar 21 Mar 14 Mar 7 Feb 28 Feb 21
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 4 5

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 04, 2017: Brownian Motion
Congressional Hearing, President's Ball, Foreign Affairs
4. Mar 31, 2010: public noize racket
Land Use Bills
2. Jul 25, 2017: Waste FM
Conscientious Objector
5. Mar 24, 2010: Brownian Motion
Foreign Affairs
3. May 16, 2017: Waste FM
Conscientious Objector
6. Mar 17, 2010: Brownian Motion
Foreign Affairs

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-02-06
Fucked up weirdness recorded in 1983 by some of Tucson’s finest. Corporate Whores were a short lived combo known mostly as a muddled hardcore thrash band that you’d see opening for the likes of Black Flag or DOA in the hovel of a bar where such gigs would be held. Their sets were loud desperate bashouts. This recording however strays from that recipe almost to the extreme: bizarre minimalism, heavy noise drones, simple drum machines. Very analog, very “living room”, very noisey and twisted. More akin to Throbbing Gristle than anything Minor Threat. Slug, their guitarist, is in the process of releasing old strange Tucson gems from back in the day (including his band that followed CW, Useless Pieces of Shit, aka UPS). Stay tuned.

1) weird electronic noise with voice in the intro, then a stoney trippy rock thing with an almost silly simple synth melody
2) awesome heavy droney industrial
3) simple minimal beat, hypnotic with bass
4) echoey noise layering, trippiness
5) guitar through slow flanger with trippy sounds and melodies
6) t.v. samples with sludgey jam
7) simple “pong”-like synth tones
8) droning creepy noise industrial, soundtrackish
9) creepiness with television samples, echoey synths like a horror flick soundtrack
10) swirling synths and noise, almost krautrocky
11) spooky with echoey beats, trippy with synth melodies
12) swirling in and out synth with slide guitar meanderings, sick
13) evil guitar with a fucked up clunky beat and dying vocalizations, the soundtrack to a torture chamber
14) echoey creepiness, messed up percussion and slide guitars, etc
15) television samples

Track Listing
1. Filibuster   8. Wire Tapping
2. Foreign Affairs   9. Mutual Destruction
3. President's Ball   10. Boot Camp
4. Congressional Hearing   11. Conscientious Objector
5. Trickle Down   12. Corporate Narcotics
6. The Bleeding Heart   13. Land Use Bills
7. Veto   14. Economic Collapse