Pug, Joe / Messenger
Album: Messenger   Collection:General
Artist:Pug, Joe   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Lightning Rod Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-03-07 Pull Date: 2010-05-09
Week Ending: May 9 Apr 18 Apr 11 Apr 4 Mar 28 Mar 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 28, 2024: That's not Bluegrass
Unsophisticated Heart, How Good You Are
4. Dec 07, 2013: The Iron Skillet
Bury Me Far (From My Uniform)
2. Sep 26, 2015: The Iron Skillet
Bury Me Far (From My Uniform)
5. May 25, 2013: The Iron Skillet
How Good You Are
3. Mar 20, 2015: Time Traveler
Bury Me Far (From My Uniform)
6. May 12, 2011: Daydream Disaster
Speak Plainly, Diana

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-02-18
Really good straight up folk/ folk rock from this young, gravelly voiced Chicago-based singer-songwriter. He gets a lot of comparisons to Bob Dylan, but he's taken the limitations of that folk songwriter genre and made them work. Mostly acoustic numbers but a few full band folk rock numbers. (Pug played live at KZSU in November 2008, by the way.)

FCC: Clean (as far as I can tell)
My picks: (acoustic): 9(!), 2, 3, 4, 7
(rock): 10(!)
1. folk rock at a walking pace.
2. mid tempo. acoustic w/ harmonica. lovely song.
3. slow. acoustic w/ harmony vocals, slide guitar. another good one.
4. med-slow. acoustic. plaintive slide guitar later. main song ends w/ 0:22 left--then some ambient sounds.
5. med-fast, almost jaunty. acoustic w/ banjo, harmonica.
6. slow. acoustic love song.
7. mid tempo. acoustic. nice guitar and vocal line.
8. mid tempo. acoustic. doubled guitar.
9. med slow. acoustic. pretty stunning song, lyrics especially.
10. med-slow. folk rock. Great song. Redone from his previous EP (where it was acoustic).

Track Listing
1. Messenger   6. The First Time I Saw You
2. How Good You Are   7. Unsophisticated Heart
3. Not So Sure   8. Disguised As Someone Else
4. The Sharpest Crown   9. Bury Me Far (From My Uniform)
5. The Door Was Always Open   10. Speak Plainly, Diana