Apples In Stereo, The / Travellers In Space And Time
Album: Travellers In Space And Time   Collection:General
Artist:Apples In Stereo, The   Added:Apr 2010
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-25 Pull Date: 2010-06-27
Week Ending: Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 13 Jun 6 May 30 May 23 May 16 May 9
Airplays: 2 6 5 7 8 7 4 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 17, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Dream About The Future
4. Jan 05, 2012: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
Dream About The Future
2. May 10, 2013: Time Traveler
Wings Away
5. Oct 27, 2011: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
Dream About The Future
3. Sep 14, 2012: Time Traveler
Wings Away
6. Oct 20, 2011: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
Dream About The Future

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2010-04-17
“Travellers in Space And Time” The Apples in Stereo
Well-established indie pop band Apples in Stereo returns with its 7th full-length studio album billed as a “futuristic pop record”. But at times you’ll swear you have traveled back in time to the dance music of the 1980s, late 1970s prog rock, or 1960s formulaic pop. Lots of channeling of ELO. This is a concept album, which starts and ends with short spoken-word tracks designed to define the trip listeners have taken, literally and figuratively. Although I don’t think everything works, this is still a high-energy album that blends synth and indie pop into a fun and satisfying experience that grows on you with each play.
— Your Traveler in Time, Francis

Recommended: 2, 9, 12, 15, 11, 8, and 13.

1. (0:23) Sounds like a needle drop on a scratchy spoken word educational vinyl LP.
2. (4:16) Vince Guaraldi piano and synth on a bouncy pop tune with nice hooks ELO-like harmonies and effects in the chorus. ***
3. (3:46) Synth-laden, post-disco 1980s sound.
4. (0:59) Interlude with robotic voices in harmony. Disney Electrical Parade.
5. (4:03) Less 1980s, more futuristic pop. The band’s designated “hit”. Lots of ELO in this one.
6. (3:40) Heavier feel — updated prog rock from the 1970s.
7. (4:17) Over-orchestrated formula pop from the 1960s. Predictable and somewhat monotonous.
8. (3:22) Pop with a 1970s rock sound. Electric guitar with bass counterpoint. Cowbell! **
9. (3:56) Upbeat indie pop. Strong vocals, nice harmonies. Very little techno. ***
10. (3:58) Another “hit” that harkens back to the 70s and 80s. Hook-y or predictable — you decide.
11. (3:38) Back to the 1960s for another formula pop melody. Techno sound updates it. This one grows on you with each listen. **
12. (3:09) Fresher melody driven by fuzz bass with a few synth touches. ***
13. (2:34) False start. Future pop with a strong hook. Would fit with “Major Tom”. **
14. (4:21) Another late 70s and 80s knockoff. Starts with Billie Jean beat and even vocals, then melody takes song in different direction.
15. (2:48) Only ballad on the CD. Like an ELO slow song. Nice. **
16. (2:30) Closing with spoken voice again, plus robotic vocals.

Track Listing
1. The Code   9. No Vacation
2. Dream About The Future   10. Told You Once
3. Hey Elevator   11. It's All Right
4. Strange Solar System   12. Next Year At About The Same Time
5. Dance Floor   13. Floating In Space
6. C.P.U   14. Nobody But You
7. No One In The World   15. Wings Away
8. Dignified Dignitary   16. Time Pilot