Sultan, Mark / $
Album: $   Collection:General
Artist:Sultan, Mark   Added:Apr 2010
Label:Last Gang  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-08 Pull Date: 2010-10-10
Week Ending: Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29 Aug 15
Airplays: 1 1 1 4 1 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 21, 2012: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles: A Work of Drama, etc, etc
Go Berserk
4. Oct 02, 2010: lost and found
I Am The End
2. Sep 09, 2011: Songs: CANTAN
5. Sep 20, 2010: Nick & No-one: It's lonely at the top.
Go Berserk
3. Oct 05, 2010: Nick & Noah: The Radio Show
Misery's Upon Us
6. Sep 18, 2010: lost and found
I'll Be Lovin' You

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-07-31
BBQ of King Kahn and the BBQ Show, progenitor of “doo-wop garage-rock”. Shit mixes it up crazily like nothing else: doo-wop, R&B, punk, soul, garage-rock, psych, country and noise “blended into a seamless new sound”. That really sums it up. This shit is so strange and advanced an amalgam that comparisons to anything else falls flat. Zappa and The Mothers did a great job lampooning 50’s sock hop music, but this isn’t a lampoon and it aint Zappa. Amazing stuff.

1) a strange dissonant noisy plod, tribal drums but then evolves into a very garagey pychedelic love fest with great eastern feeling guitar
2) upbeat galloping
3) waltzing, 50’s sock hop slow dance through a haze of acid
4) upbeat, noisey and silly and fun all at once
5) swingy almost slightly twangy
6) garage punky feel, post punky driving and 50’s bouncy all at the same time
7) soulful a capela intro, right out of Motown, all with a strange noise soundbed, holy shit!!, then shifts into slow dance plod
8) upbeat and swingy fun
9) Go Go surf beat, retro and nasty, seemingly starts over midway so don’t freak out
10) 50’s melodic and bouncy
11) slower waltzing swing
12) upbeat and galloping near-western
13) country blues through an echoplex, for cowboys who’ve been chewing on the jimson weed and mescaline

Track Listing
1. Icicles   7. I Am The End
2. Don't Look Back   8. Misery's Upon Us
3. Ten Of Hearts   9. I'll Be Lovin' You
4. Status   10. Waiting For Me
5. I Get Nothin From My Girl   11. Just To Hold You
6. Go Berserk   12. Nobody But You