Moncrieff, Robby / Who Do You Think You Aren't? Featuring Zach Hill
Album: Who Do You Think You Aren't? Featuring Zach Hill   Collection:General
Artist:Moncrieff, Robby   Added:Apr 2010
Label:Porter Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-05-02 Pull Date: 2010-07-04
Week Ending: Jun 27 Jun 13 May 30 May 23 May 16 May 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 18, 2016: Music Casserole
Today, Let's Take A Walk
4. May 26, 2010: Brownian Motion
Old Warming
2. Jun 23, 2010: Brownian Values
5. May 19, 2010: Brownian Motion
Old Warming
3. Jun 10, 2010: orangeasm
Old Warming
6. May 12, 2010: receding snare line
Let's Take A Walk

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-04-26
Fans of Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, Frank Zappa, Universe Zero, Henry Cow, Soft Machine take note: smoking crazy prog/rock/experimental. Jazzy but noisey, rock but not. Lots of off-kilter timings that blend into Mr Bungle’ish messes at times and droney near-noise at others. All instrumental, from Sacramento, on the fantastic Porter label.

1) droney and bending in a minor toned feel, creepy, brief
2) crazy spazz rock using a jazz ensemble
3) disjunct and dischordant with piano in front, very Zappa/Birdsongs
4) blippy synth tones, mildly melodic
5) pensive and menacing, driving
6) pensive first part then a rumbling droning pounding mashed bashout that evolves into its rockin thing
7) noisey toy piano
8) heavy and doomy, very Birdsongs
9) some sort of epic melody hook in this one, 70’s prog comes to mind, epic prog
10) spastic and bashy and crazy, very brief almost an intro to the next
11) doomey and dark, epic – watch false ending at ~1 minute remaining

Track Listing
1. Untitled   6. Old Warming
2. Today   7. What's There
3. Let's Take A Walk   8. Drips Slow As Sap
4. Time Change   9. Crooked Teeth
5. The Gist   10. In Love
  11. I Saw Blood