Lcd Soundsystem / This Is Happening
Album: This Is Happening   Collection:General
Artist:Lcd Soundsystem   Added:May 2010
Label:Dfa Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-07-11 Pull Date: 2010-09-12
Week Ending: Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 15 Aug 8 Jul 25 Jul 18
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 3 2 3 6

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 21, 2024: down in the basement
I Can Change
4. May 31, 2022: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Dance Yrself Clean
2. Jun 02, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
I Can Change
5. Mar 09, 2022: The Hyperpop Hour
Dance Yrself Clean
3. Mar 02, 2023: Down in the Basement
Dance Yrself Clean
6. Nov 16, 2021: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Dance Yrself Clean

Album Review
Truc Nguyen
Reviewed 2010-07-07

Put on yr hipster hats, kids. If you're not too cool to like LCD Soundsystem, James Murphy brings it again. Dance punk (whatever that means) from James Murphy/the DFA. This album has some super catchy songs engineered to stick with you for days leaving you wondering why they're stuck in your head. Mere exposure effect? I think not.
FCC’s: 4,7
Picks: 1, 3, 2, all

1. (8:56) Tribal beats, slow pace and consistent rhythm and woobly fun synth picks up around 3 mins. It sounds desperate and it's awesome.
2. (3:42) Inane or brilliant? Who knows? Infectiously catchy more punk than electro. "Drunk girls" chant repeated throughout, play this and get debauched. It's a sort radio friendly song, not that you should care about that.
3. (7:46) Slow to start hyponotic paranoid rising electronic beats (reminds me of Soulwax remixes wooo) tripped out dance party.
4. FCC! shit (6:41) Feedback, slow to start. Subtle drumming and instrumentals, soft waning vocals start at ~1:00. A softer, more contemplative interlude.
5. (5:56) Funky beats amidst earnest desperate plea-ing vocals. It's a little painful to listen to.
6. (9:06) Twinkly slow to start beginning becomes a punk song around 3:00. It's a bit. . . self-indulgent but you could probably tell by the title, eh?
7. FCC! fuck (8:23) Energetic, mid-paced song. Distorted vocals and electronics. So harmonized chill out vocal moments in this.
8. (6:53) Slow, sharp comedown track. Sober talking/singing vocals with fuzzed out instrumentals and repetitive.
9. (7:53) Clicky cacophony of percussion instruments and guitar fiddling take form into compact ending track, there's a cadence to these vocals that really makes it stick.

Track Listing
1. Dance Yrself Clean   5. I Can Change
2. Drunk Girls   6. You Wanted A Hit
3. One Touch   7. Pow Pow
4. All I Want   8. Somebody's Calling Me
  9. Home