500 Million Society / 500 Million Society
Album: 500 Million Society   Collection:General
Artist:500 Million Society   Added:May 2010
Label:Spinout Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-27 Pull Date: 2012-01-29
Week Ending: Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 18, 2019: Emergency Crew (Sub for Audio Ambrosia)
Are The Trees Afraid
4. Dec 14, 2011: Brownian Motion
The Alchemist
2. Jun 18, 2018: Everything A To Z 136
Big Brother, The Quest
5. Dec 07, 2011: Brownian Motion
The Alchemist
3. Dec 21, 2011: Brownian Motion
Big Brother
6. Nov 30, 2011: Brownian Motion
The Alchemist

Album Review
Deniz Cebenoyan
Reviewed 2011-11-22
500 Million Society / “500 Million Society” / Spinout Records

Singer has a nerdy tenor voice with an ever so slight nasalness. Makes it sound like dork music meets psychedelic rock. Sometimes evokes dramatic goofiness in the style of Electric Six/Tenacious D/AWOLNATION, though the vocal sound is totally different. Could be the soundtrack to an off-Broadway play. Many of the songs have very strong, over-the-top melodies which may be better suited for a stronger singer. The melodies get a bit lost with the standard/thin singing voice. Almost all songs involve uptempo beats, quivering synthesized keyboards, and electric guitars.

No FCCs detected.

Favorite tracks: 2, 5, 9.

Individual track reviews continued inside.

1. 2:03 Fast paced, vocal distortions occasionally, synth keyboards over standard rock.

2. *2:31 Clean guitar layered over distorted guitar and vocals, very catchy melodies.

3. 4:06 Yelled lyrics, like a synth anthem, evokes the image of a group of skinny men trying to enthusiastically recruit an army together.

4. 3:22 Has a They Might Be Giants esque feel, with vocals and instrumentals alternating, synthy keyboards, fast drumming.

5. *3:22 Big, rich synth keyboard opener, very dramatic feel throughout. Sounds like epic theme music to a Bond movie spoof.

6. 2:35 Bonus points for naming the song Gwen Ifill. Otherwise, pretty standard fast psych-rock song.

7. 4:52 Eerie, synthy, mad-scientisty. Sounds like a song from a Halloween special.

8. 3:46 One of the more basic tracks on the album. Repetitive, simple chorus, saved a bit by the anachronistic guitar solo about 2/3 way through.

9. *5:35 Buzzing synth beginning, heavy bass, spoken vocals in background. Vocals made more powerful with harmonies. Sounds like the last song in a morose epic rock musical, with the hero returning to outer space.

Deniz Cebenoyan

Track Listing
1. The Quest   5. Are The Trees Afraid
2. Big Brother   6. Gwen Ifill
3. If You're Hungry   7. Bulletin Of The Atomic Scientists
4. Get Higher   8. You're Going Down
  9. The Alchemist