Pearly Gate Music / Pearly Gate Music
Album: Pearly Gate Music   Collection:General
Artist:Pearly Gate Music   Added:May 2010
Label:Barsuk Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-03-20 Pull Date: 2011-05-22
Week Ending: May 22 May 15 May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 20, 2011: awmeow
Golden Funeral
4. May 06, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Daddy Wrote You Letters...
2. May 19, 2011: A Family Affair
Gossamer Hair
5. May 02, 2011: Pre-PACC
I Was A River
3. May 10, 2011: meow
Bad Nostalgia
6. Apr 29, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Big Escape

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-03-10
Great stuff here from Seattle’s Zach Tillman. It’s folky, country, slightly goth or mellower post-punk. Jonathan Richman, Bright Eyes and maybe some Nick Cave or Tindersticks influences. Lots of hollow, echoey vocals, sounding ominous but just right. Many of the songs deal with death and life and relationships. Great, great stuff. All songs are worth a play except: FCC #9.

*My Favorites*: All.

1. (4:28) Slow. Organ drone and male vocal only. Very ethereal and hollow.
2. (3:00) Mid. Drum machine into acoustic guitar and drum. Upbeat, a bit of, hmmm, maybe The Beach Boys. Gets into some distorted Wilco sounds toward the end.
3. (2:39) Slow / Mid. Sparse instrumentation of guitar, drums, organ. Cool background vocals and hand claps at end.
4. (2:23) Mid. Latin flair with castanets, hand claps, percussion. Very Jonathan Richman-like.
5. (3;34) Slow / Mid. Minor keyed guitar to start. Organ and percussion enter. Tempo picks up.
6. (3:43) Mid / Fast. Plodding guitar strum and sparse to start, then gets really rocking with the full band coming in. Alternates between the two. Cool marching band drum at end.
7. (3:43) Mid. Guitar and harmonica to start. Lots of influences here. Folk, country, s/s.
8. (4:02) Slow / Mid. Sparse instrumentation with some echoey vocals. Phrases with just vocals, which is suspensefully killer.
9. (3:33) Mid. FCC. Rocking, catchy song.
10. (5:49) Slow. Acoustic guitar and vocal intro. Minimal organ and drums. Nice.

Track Listing
1. Golden Funeral   6. Gossamer Hair
2. Big Escape   7. Daddy Wrote You Letters...
3. Navy Blues   8. I Was A River
4. Oh, What A Time!   9. Bad Nostalgia
5. I Woke Up   10. Rejoice