Deer Tick / Black Dirt Sessions, The
Album: Black Dirt Sessions, The   Collection:General
Artist:Deer Tick   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Partisan Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-10-03 Pull Date: 2010-12-05
Week Ending: Dec 5 Nov 28 Nov 21 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17
Airplays: 2 1 2 3 2 3 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 05, 2023: GORP
Choir Of Angels
4. Jun 07, 2014: Music Casserole
2. Jul 05, 2021: Nick&Noah: TheRadioShow (rebroadcast from Oct 12, 2010)
Twenty Miles
5. Apr 05, 2012: Nathin' TO Do
The Sad Sun
3. Aug 11, 2015: That's Not Bluegrass
Twenty Miles
6. Dec 30, 2011: The Songsmith Show
The Sad Sun

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2010-09-24
The music here is probably better than either the lyrics or the vocals, although both of those are very good at times. The sound is country, blues, rock, folk, but it’s also quite singular and distinctive. McCauley’s vocals tend to be rather monotonous but, at the same time, can also be quite alluring though his voice is a bit rough and raspy. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: 2, 6, 8.

1. (2:55) Mid. Mellow vocal delivery, nice fx on the mic, backing singers, country-ish finish.
2. *(3:44) Mid. Guitar, piano intro. Song about going back to his girlfriend. Catchy and well done.
3. (4:58) Slow. Piano and vocal. Dirge about losing a friend. Heavy and brooding.
4. (4:09) Mid. Singer-songwriter-ish with guitar, vocal and a bit of piano.
5. (4:34) Slow / Mid. Sad song about the ‘sad sun’. Lyrics stretched out, backing vocal.
6. *(5:16) Mid / Fast. Kinda funky, a kinda retro sound, cool bass and percussion. Spacey at times with some good jamming. Great piano solo with 1:55 remaining. The band is really tight on this song.
7. (3:53) Mid. Country number, has that ‘anthem song’ sound.
8. *(4:31) Mid. Lots of influences here: Beatles, Wilco, Van Morrison. Great music, cool vocal delivery and phrasing. Backing vocals.
9. (3:22) Slow / Mid. Spacey with an Eastern sounding guitar. Big sound yet a bit mellow.
10. (4:41) Slow. Bluesy. Lots of space, everything stretched out like a dream.
11. (4:33) Slow / Mid. Piano and vocal. Ethereal and ominous.

Track Listing
1. Choir Of Angels   6. Mange
2. Twenty Miles   7. When She Comes Home
3. Goodbye, Dear Friend   8. Hand In My Hand
4. Piece By Piece And Frame By Frame   9. I Will Not Be Myself
5. The Sad Sun   10. Blood Moon
  11. Christ Jesus