Taha, Rachid / Bonjour
Album: Bonjour   Collection:World
Artist:Taha, Rachid   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Knitting Factory, the  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-06-13 Pull Date: 2010-08-15 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 15 Aug 8 Aug 1 Jul 25 Jul 18 Jul 11 Jul 4 Jun 27
Airplays: 3 3 4 5 1 3 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 27, 2011: Hi, Keefak, Ça Va?
Je T'aime Mon Amour
4. Aug 10, 2010: At the Cafe Bohemian
2. Jan 01, 2011: New World Disorder
Mine Jai
5. Aug 10, 2010: Mediterraneans
Mine Jai
3. Aug 14, 2010: New World Disorder
Mine Jai
6. Aug 07, 2010: New World Disorder
Je T'aime Mon Amour

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-06-10
Rachid Taha – Bonjour
Reviewed by Sadie O., 6/10/10
Lovely folky multicultural stuff from the Raï-punk master. Mostly very pretty and tender, which is not what I expect from Rachid Taha – he’s switched gears a bit and really done a record of love, I think both on a personal and global kind of level. No “Rock El Casbah” here, but some really gorgeous stuff anyway. Track 5 is awesome, track 8 is really cool, all are worth playing…
1. 4:01 ***slow fade in to acoustic guitar, slow, low and mellow. Love song in French/Arabic, startlingly pretty for Taha. A bit psychedelic, interesting production. Ends a bit early.
2. 3:40 **upbeat, seems rather commercially produced, but with Taha’s familiar growl. Builds nicely.
3. 3:43 **sweet, very traditionally-based love song in Arabic. At least, I’m pretty sure “Ha Baby” is a take on the Arabic “habibi” – beloved. Simple song, interesting musical mashup.
4. 3:24 **folksy acoustic ditty in French/Arabic. A bit 60’s, slight exotic hints.
5. 4:13 *****drones, middle eastern traditional influences and swingy beat, mad vocals – really interesting combination. This is what I love Rachid Taha for…
6. 4:01 **pretty, low-key acoustic, chorus has a bit of forceful complex beat. Chorus of children…
7. 4:08 ***very low bass intro, builds into a slinky, mysterious vibe with whispered lyrics. More interesting than I make it sound. Spose I should mention that he’s not saying “fuckry”….
8. 4:05 ****also low-key with a few horn squeals and oud flourishes. Very pretty, nice guest vocals, too. Vocals in about 3 languages.
9. 4:01 **more rather folky-60’s feel, swingy. Gets a flamenco groove (mostly in the handclaps) midway along.
10. 3:08 *fades in to sweet folky pop with tinkly piano.

Track Listing
1. Je T'aime Mon Amour   6. Mabrouk Aalik
2. Mokhtar   7. Ila Liqa
3. Ha Baby   8. It's An Arabian Song
4. Bonjour   9. Selu
5. Mine Jai   10. Agi