Stevens, Sufjan / Age Of Adz, The
Album: Age Of Adz, The   Collection:General
Artist:Stevens, Sufjan   Added:Oct 2010
Label:Asthmatic Kitty  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-09 Pull Date: 2011-12-11
Week Ending: Dec 11 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13 Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16
Airplays: 3 1 3 3 5 4 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 18, 2024: Fermentation Station
Too Much
4. Feb 08, 2022: Butter in the Pan
Age Of Adz
2. Nov 08, 2023: Fermentation Station
Too Much
5. Feb 19, 2020: soft boiled
Too Much
3. Apr 17, 2023: Pest Control
Futile Devices
6. Nov 09, 2018: Tell Me I'm Pretty
Futile Devices

Album Review
Kyle Vandenberg
Reviewed 2011-09-29
Sufjan Stevens: The Age of Adz: The Detroit indie darling returns with his sixth studio effort. Interesting juxtaposition of synths/progressive noise with classical instruments in many of the tracks. Electronic folk? I think that’s the closest I can come to pinning a genre on this. FCC warning on track 10. Most of this deserves airplay, but first try 1, 2, 3, 6, 11.
1) Soft crooning vocals, high-pitched piano riff, clock-like guitar.
2) Industrial sound at the beginning, then soft vocals layered on top. Really cool contrast of sweet synths/vocals with random tech noise. Space sounds/orchestra ending.
3) Title track. Flashy orchestra opening and choruses. Lamenting vocals, loud strings, deep horns. A long electronic folk ballad.
4) Slower, calmer, with echo-y vocals and muted percussion.
5) Doleful piano and vocal chorus, with Sufjan crooning.
6) Scales of vocals, horns, and flute, with synths in the background.
7) A wide mix of noises and sound, with echo-y, strange vocals.
8) Synth horn solos and a chorus of vocals. Very sing-songy.
9) Climactic percussion, grand vocals, interspersed with whispered crooning.
10) FCC “fucking” Wildly fluctuating flute, a hint of electric guitar, and exciting synths. One of the best tracks on the album, but sadly invalidated for airplay because of multiple droppings of the F-bomb…
11) A 25 minute-long epic. Everything from wild electric guitars, to falsetto female vocals, to horn synths, to orchestral string sections, to auto-tuned Sufjan vocals. Especially if you have a super-long, late-night show, this is stuff for you.
Kyle Vandenberg

Track Listing
1. Futile Devices   6. Get Real Get Right
2. Too Much   7. Bad Communication
3. Age Of Adz   8. Vesuvius
4. I Walked   9. All For Myself
5. Now That I'm Older   10. I Want To Be Well
  11. Impossible Soul