Tamlins / Re-Birth
Album: Re-Birth   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Tamlins   Added:Dec 2010

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-12-05 Pull Date: 2011-02-06 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 6 Jan 23 Jan 16 Jan 9 Dec 19 Dec 12
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 09, 2012: New World Disorder
Dub In Baltimore
4. Jan 22, 2011: New World Disorder
Praise Rastafarai
2. Nov 30, 2011: Morning Glory
Baltimore Feat. Alborosie
5. Jan 15, 2011: New World Disorder
Tell Me Baby
3. Feb 05, 2011: New World Disorder
Baltimore Feat. Alborosie
6. Jan 12, 2011: Getting Over the Hump aka Sunshine in the Morning aka Morning Glory
To The Nations

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-12-02
Tamlins – Re-Birth
Reviewed by Sadie O., 12/1/10
New roots rock reggae from a vocal trio dating back to the 70’s. Mostly known for their backup work for folks like Peter Tosh and John Holt, they have fine harmonies and arrangements, and the lead singer has a nice Philly soul falsetto delivery. Album is produced (and a lot of the instruments played) by Alborosie, who knows his way around a roots riddim, so it’s a quality act.
No FCCs detected. I like 2, 4 and 14 best.
1. 3:33 ***slow, soul intro turning into a midtempo bubble with nice bounce, sweet harmonies and vocals.
2. 4:02 ****downtempo, dubby bubble with syndrum and Alborosie. That’s at least two of your essential food groups, right there.
3. 4:05 **downtempo, mellow roots rock reggae, depressing socio-political lyrics.
4. 3:43 ****downtempo cover of familiar riddim, really sweet vocals.
5. 4:43 **uptempo syncopated bubble. Guest vocals by Spiritual – who sounds a lot like Burning Spear.
6. 4:17 **downtempo with soaring harmonies, syndrum.
7. 4:07 **a bit downtempo, sort of Motown sound to the vocals and keyboards. Some falsetto singing.
8. 3:34 ***rather downtempo, a bit sparser sound, several different lead voices.
9. 3:58 **midtempo bubble with lots of syndrum, some falsetto vocals.
10. 3:49 ***midtempo bubble, somewhat odd vocals. I kinda like somewhat odd vocals. Goes dubby toward the end.
11. 3:59 ***midtempo with swingy syncopation – groovy little riddim, nice sentiment.
12. 3:38 **slow bubble with syndrum and a hint of menace.
13. 3:28 ***uptempo and upbeat bubble, almost doo-wop vocals.
14. 4:43 ****slow uber-dub of track track 2, with lots of creepy syndrum and low piano and very few vocals.

Track Listing
1. To The Nations   8. It's Your Life
2. Baltimore Feat. Alborosie   9. World's In Danger
3. Bit By Bit   10. Give I Praise
4. Send Them Come   11. Food For The Poor
5. Who Are Leading Us   12. Mr. Gravalicious
6. Chant Down Babylon   13. Tell Me Baby
7. Praise Rastafarai   14. Dub In Baltimore