Black Ryder, The / Buy The Ticket, Take The Ride
Album: Buy The Ticket, Take The Ride   Collection:General
Artist:Black Ryder, The   Added:Dec 2010
Label:Mexican Summer  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-01-02 Pull Date: 2011-03-06
Week Ending: Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20 Feb 13 Feb 6 Jan 30 Jan 23 Jan 16
Airplays: 2 3 4 5 5 1 6 5

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 07, 2017: moodswings
To Never Know You
4. Feb 19, 2014: Femme Fatale
What's Forsaken
2. May 05, 2016: Life Aquatic
What's Forsaken
5. Jul 18, 2013: maximum entropy
Let It Go
3. Jan 15, 2015: Meow: The Best Of The Decade So Far (2010-2014)...The Sequel!
To Never Know You
6. Mar 02, 2013: Music Casserole

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-12-22
Dreamy psychey rock, understated female vocals that smack of Mazzy Star. Echoey dense and just plain lovely. Places veer into the realm of early 80’s new psyche in vein of Dream Syndicate, Opel/Mazzy Star. More from the same people that send us Tamaryn and No Joy, bands all drinking from the same well. Unabashed My Bloody Valentine/Medicine/Loop worship here and there is NOTHING wrong with that. It’s a style that works, and works well. Bendy guitar layers, breathy and trippy female vocs. Nice stuff, takes me back to 1991, all things Too Pure and Creation (record labels).

1) mid paced dream rock
2) dreamy again, slower feel, all MBV bendy3) male vocs, understated again, swingy psyche rock, very Loop4) nice twangy guitar and breathy fem vocs in intro, then another lovely headnodder
5) male vocs and fem vocs switch off for verse/chorus, strummy and mid paced
6) triplet/waltz gives it a slightly retro sock hop slow dance feel
7) chill yet dense wah wah’ed guitar, no flat out big beat, fem vocs, Loop comes out again
8) more of a mindful Mazzy Star’esque ballad
9) western tinged Mazzy Star feel, no drums, just guitar male/fem vocals, harmonica, echoey and distant, like ghosts around a cattle run campfire
10) mid paced slow dreamy
11) male vocs figure into this, very Kevin Shields, another slow dreamy thing with no drums, just intense guitar strums and synth, wow

Track Listing
1. To Never Know You   6. The Greatest Fall
2. Let It Go   7. What's Forsaken
3. Grass   8. All That We See
4. Outside   9. Sweet Come Down
5. Gone Without Feeling   10. Burn And Fade