Flying Lotus / Pattern + Grid World
Album: Pattern + Grid World   Collection:General
Artist:Flying Lotus   Added:Jan 2011
Label:Warp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-02-06 Pull Date: 2011-04-10 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20
Airplays: 2 1 1 4 3 3 5 5

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 29, 2016: The Offbeat Generation
Physics For Everyone!
4. Jul 05, 2012: Cognitive Dissonance
Physics For Everyone!
2. Aug 20, 2015: subwoofer etc
Physics For Everyone!
5. Jun 22, 2012: Flipping Through Time
Jurassic Notion/M Theory
3. Dec 03, 2013: Pumping Iron
Jurassic Notion/M Theory
6. Jan 29, 2012: Instant Cat
Jurassic Notion/M Theory

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-02-07
The latest release from Los Angeles-based abstract beat architect Flying Lotus. While with this dual EP he mostly sticks to his signature left-field production, he broadens his palette a bit with forays into 8-bit, ambient, and avant-garde jazz percussion. Lots of cool cosmic electronica, sci-fi themes and intergalactic blunt-smoking. This is what the Tron: Legacy soundtrack SHOULD have sounded like.


1. Flying Lotus’s signature spacey beats with lots of jangly percussion, hi hats, maracas, etc. Far out, bro.
2. Lots of 8-bit electronica with a delicate drum ‘n bass foundation. Upbeat and lighthearted.
3. SPAZZY percussion, lots of jumbled beats and keyboards. A real diverse pallet of sound with just about every combination of “beep” and “boop” imaginable.
*4. Very sparse with lots of muffled vocal tracks, flute samples, water drips, and tinkling chimes. Haunting, with only a minimal beat to guide you through the darkness.
*5. Left-field percussion with great world instruments and strange vocal samples. The bass beat is simple 808, but instead of snares, there’s just the layered sound of drumsticks beating on a kitchen table. Try to imagine it, I dare you. AWESOME. Reminds me of his song “Ping Pong” from Cosmogramma.
6. Bright synthesizer with soaring legato interludes.
*7. Hard-hitting electro with whipped swirls of synth and stuttering percussion. Sounds like it samples the toy raygun that’s sitting in the MD office.

Track Listing
1. Clay   4. Time Vampires
2. Kill Your Co-Workers   5. Jurassic Notion/M Theory
3. Pieface   6. Camera Day
  7. Physics For Everyone!