Spaghetti, Eddie / Sundowner
Album: Sundowner   Collection:General
Artist:Spaghetti, Eddie   Added:Feb 2011
Label:Bloodshot Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-04-03 Pull Date: 2011-06-05
Week Ending: May 8 May 1 Apr 17
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 20, 2022: Down in The Basement (rebroadcast from Jan 6, 2022)
Girl On The Billboard
4. Apr 25, 2011: American Beauty
What Do I Care
2. Jan 06, 2022: Down in The Basement
Girl On The Billboard
5. Apr 14, 2011: Double Daydream Disaster
Girl On The Billboard
3. May 06, 2011: Wee Animalcules
Girl On The Billboard

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-03-28
Rock/Country – This is the third solo album by Eddie Spaghetti (lead singer of the Supersuckers), a collection in which Spaghetti shines in his covers of a wide range of musicians and genres (Johnny Cash to Lee Harvey Oswald Band), and fills in the spaces with a few originals that are more unpredictable. Spaghetti plays up his outlaw image by keeping his big country sounds tethered to definite Rock and Punk roots. Expect Spaghetti to grow on you. FCC’s on 5, 9, 11.

My picks: 3, 5(FCC), 6, 9(FCC), 10, 11(FCC)

1) Mid. (3:05) An original number that doesn’t pack a lot of punch – goes for a big pop country sound but ends up fairly monotonous.
2) Mid. (2:41) Driving bass and a drunken chorus makes this a lighthearted & heel-stompin’ number.
3) *Mid. (2:31) Spaghetti’s nonchalance is perfect for this lyric-driven track that’ll make your head bob.
4) Mid. (3:23) A folky, acoustic lead-in to this Steve Earle song, though not too many surprises from Spaghetti after popping into the big band feel.
5) FCC indecency note: “makes my genitals twirl” *Fast-mid. (2:59) A fake song re-start leads into this fun, fast-paced track, feels more Pop-punk than country.
6) *Mid. (2:03) Spaghetti’s smooth voice gives a more flippant feel to this Cash song.
7) Fast-mid. (3:39) Title track & Spaghetti original with high energy throughout and longest guitar solos on the album.
8) Slow. (3:10) Spaghetti has a difficult time sounding sentimental, but this is his attempt.
9) FCC!! “Fucker” & “Faggot” *Fast. (2:33) Spaghetti’s cowpunk take on Jesus, pretty hilarious and one of the better songs on the album, definitely controversial.
10) *Fast-mid. (2:03) Growling guitar matches Spaghetti’s vocals, and background piano makes this a sure toe-tapper.
11) FCC “Goddamn” *Mid. (3:34) Best Spaghetti original on album, well-layered track, instrumentals sound like the Traveling Wilburys.
12) Mid. (1:27) Total genre change for Spaghetti: Punk-rock, distorted guitar & whiny lyrics. Out of place on album, but still good.

Track Listing
1. Never Thought I Would   7. Sundowner
2. Party Dolls And Wine   8. Always On My Mind
3. Girl On The Billboard   9. Jesus Never Lived On Mars
4. If You Fall In Love   10. Cowboy Boots
5. Everybody's Girl   11. Marie
6. What Do I Care   12. When Do I Go?