Bjorklund, Maggie / Coming Home
Album: Coming Home   Collection:General
Artist:Bjorklund, Maggie   Added:Mar 2011
Label:Bloodshot Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-08 Pull Date: 2012-03-11
Week Ending: Jan 22 Jan 15
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 07, 2024: Traditions
The Anchor Song
3. Jan 15, 2012: End of Everything
The Anchor Song, Falling
2. May 11, 2013: Music Casserole
4. Jan 10, 2012: Modern Donkey
The Anchor Song

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2011-12-17
Pleasant indie psychedelic pop with some slight country and other touches.

Maggie Bjorklund is a pedal steel guitarist from Denmark. Her web site lists album credits going back to ’91; this is her debut record as a leader. On some tracks she also sings and plays organ, electric guitar, and acoustic guitar.

Five tracks are instrumentals; seven have various guest vocalists. All music composed by Bjorklund; lyrics by others.

No FCC issues.

1 * Mid-tempo, melancholy instrumental. Countryish melody set to a tango rhythm. (4:02)
2 Slow lullaby in a dreary 3/4. M/F duet vox. Rhythm guitar is painfully simplistic. (4:20)
3 ** Mid-tempo folk-feel ballad but with abstract lyrics. Female vocal is very good. (4:25)
4 Slow and sad at first, with mopey, emo male vox. At 2:00 it shifts to a better folk style. (4:29)
5 ** Interesting pedal steel solo. Somewhere between a horror film soundtrack and totally free form. (1:17)
6 *** Mid-tempo. Alt-folk masterpiece. Good female vox. Stylish accompaniment. (4:20)
7 *** Trans-genre mix of Eastern Euro folk dance, classical, spaghetti Western theme music, etc. Features all manner of guitar tones & styles. Fascinating & wonderful. (4:35)
8 ** Mid-tempo alt-rock song with good male lead vox. Maggie’s backing vox is non-verbal, mixed far away & mysterious. Odd feel is beautiful yet disquieting. (4:44)
9 * Showcase pedal steel solo, backed by relaxed rhythm section. (3:33)
10 * Mid-tempo. Good male vox. Hard, sharp pedal steel; sweet, light vibes. Nice. (4:44)
11 ** Mid-tempo with guitars of all types. There's a soft trumpet and angels in the background. (3:20)

Track Listing
1. Wasteland   6. The Anchor Song
2. Intertwined   7. Insert
3. Summer Romance   8. Coming Home
4. Vildspor   9. Frost
5. Falling   10. Playground Stars
  11. Finale