Renaut, Helene / Deer Convention, The
Album: Deer Convention, The   Collection:General
Artist:Renaut, Helene   Added:Apr 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-04-17 Pull Date: 2011-06-19
Week Ending: Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 8 May 1 Apr 24
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 4 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 01, 2015: 4-1-2015
L'amour La PoéSie, Bumblebee
4. Jun 02, 2011: Daydream Disaster
2. Apr 26, 2014: Music Casserole
The Way You Looked At Me
5. Jun 02, 2011: meowgasm!
3. Jun 11, 2011: Music Casserole
The Deer Convention
6. May 25, 2011: Brownian Motion
The Deer Convention

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-04-09
Local singer songwriter of French (Normandy) origins weaves tapestries of guitar and vocals of dense evocative beauty. Her first full-length, these songs have a chordal and structural complexity that go far beyond your average “female singer songwriter” or folkie with a guitar. This is beautiful stuff made more lovely by Helene’s somewhat acrobatic voice, jumping and vaulting through octaves and scales. String arrangements and double bass give it a “chamber” feel in places. She reveals her roots as much of this has the flavor of French folk tunes, helped a tad with her accent or abandonment of her second language on a couple tracks. Smartly recorded, mixed and mastered to vinyl only (download with vinyl purchase). For fans of Emily Jane White, Cat Power, Shirelles, Nick Drake, British and French folk.

NOTE: we have also copy of the test pressing on afile/in library vinyl. It sounds great.

1) Strummy upbeat guitar, layers of harmonized vocs take on a whole quality of their own
2) becoming a near “hit” or single: “bumble bee”, a lovely strum that veers from minor chording to happy, minor seventh, forelorn to hopeful, all in one
3) epic, with strings, fantastic chamber quality, song was debuted on KZSU from this freshly opened test pressing when Helene interviewed on Brownian Motion
4) trombones appears which cant help but give this a vaudevillian flavor, or rather a French burlesque
5) sung in French with a certain traditional folk flavor, brushed drums and rich guitars, lovely
6) upbeat toe tap a bit, string embellishment
7) a capela, lovely, sounds traditional (?)
8) “I saw the way you looked at me”, pizt strings, strings and upright bass create a density and prettiness that borders on epic
9) sung in French, upbeat pop feel w/ brushed drums, bass
10) upbeat with strings
11) minor toned dark waltz
12) solo guitar, finger picked arpeggios with lilting and soaring vocal melodies

Track Listing
1. The One   7. Keep Your Garden Clean
2. Bumblebee   8. The Way You Looked At Me
3. The Deer Convention   9. Bande A Part
4. The Wisdom Of The Dove   10. Silly
5. L'amour La PoéSie   11. February's Daughter
6. Orpheus   12. To Be A Child