Horse Marriage / Eisenhower Interstate
Album: Eisenhower Interstate   Collection:General
Artist:Horse Marriage   Added:May 2011
Label:Roll Over Rover  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-05-21 Pull Date: 2011-07-23
Week Ending: Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29
Airplays: 3 1 1 1 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 05, 2022: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
4. Jul 14, 2011: Sun Salutations
2. Apr 06, 2012: Songs: Cantam
5. Jul 13, 2011: Not That Simple
3. Jul 16, 2011: meow: a self-promoting whore of a musical
Acme Tunnel
6. Jul 08, 2011: Music Casserole

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2011-05-16
Indie rock. Ambient-folk, reverb-phile cassette labelers, Stewart Adams and Dave McPeters (aka Roll Over Records) come together with their friends to rock out some great, fuzzy, 90’s-ish indie rock. Nostalgia and nods to Built to Spill, Yo La Tengo, and Dinosaur Jr among others. Their previous releases were lo-fi and more of the cassette aesthetic, but the clarity here changes things and probably for the better, as much as I would have never thought I would say something like that. Play it. Roll Over Records (Black Eagle Child, Sean McCann, Old Softy, Ugly Husbands, etc) is the best.

1. Fuzzy, upbeat, jangly with great guitars. (3:05)
*2. Bendy guitars, slower tempo, melodic distorted guitars; reminds me of Built to Spill a bit. (4:13)
3. Really bright and warm pop rock, ends on some droney, pretty effects. (3:57)
4. Slower acoustic guitar head nod beat, bleeds over from 3, distant drowning vocals. (3:38)
5. Slow/mid melodic distorto Crazy Horse/Kozelek crunch, nice melodic progression with minor chords, last minute is gorgeous lo-fi ambient twiddling. (4:17)
6. Acoustic melodic slow-burning ballad with forefront lead and backing vocals, ringing, dreamy keyboard pads, gets a bit more epic with overdriven, thick distorted guitars. (7:16)
*7. Yo La Tengo upbeat guitar pop. This pushes my indie rock buttons like not much else could – noisy but melodic guitars. (3:14)
8. Slow, persistent groove held by bass and drums, strained vocals, group vocals in outro, lots of room to breathe and expand. (12:53)
*9. Bobby simple beat picks up to pretty fuzzy indie rock bliss and then start/stop rhythm variations. (6:28)

Track Listing
1. M. Snerd   5. Pain
2. Sleep   6. Hindenburg
3. Time Stays   7. Pee-Chee
4. Hate The World   8. Mercury Head
  9. Acme Tunnel