Duarte Sucks / Duarte Sucks
Album: Duarte Sucks   Collection:General
Artist:Duarte Sucks   Added:May 2011
Label:Verson Mary Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-05-30 Pull Date: 2011-08-01
Week Ending: Jul 31 Jun 26 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 25, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Higher And Higher
4. Jun 11, 2011: Songs: Cantan pts. I & II
the banjo song
2. Jul 29, 2011: Songs: Cantan
Higher And Higher
5. Jun 02, 2011: Lost Verses
4 (the dog song)
3. Jun 25, 2011: Music Casserole
Blue Grass Duck
6. Jun 01, 2011: Brownian Motion

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-05-25
Okay now this is outsider music, as defined by it being very likely that the artist doesn’t realize that he/she sounds like he/she is retarded. And who doesn’t love retards?! As a child I was forced to play with them…. which is likely why I love this stuff and anything that smacks of it, e.g. Daniel Johnston, Arf Arf Records, Steve Leiberman, Wesley Willis, King Missile… George W. Bush. Very low fi recording, sounds to be composed on a cheesy casio type keyboard with some drum bass and guitar overdubs, male vocals. Theres moments of Quintron, Bob Log, King Missle in here as well. Just wrong. Winner of the Special Olympics of college radio submissions.

1) swingy, “higher and higher we go”, with some slide guitar and happy drums
2) solo guitar folky + vocs some tambourines
3) “dig a hole”, sloppy swing, the horn is so obviously a casio type key its funny
4) really fucked up blues progression, comical organ, dog theme with barking, holy… see also track 9
5) bar-room piano feel with bass and half spoken words
6) western upbeat fun, boogie woogie, guitar with “Praise Jesus!” preacher theme
7) strange swingy blues, bad rhymes about big blue eyes, ouch
8) any song that features the “banjo” button on a cheesy keyboard is going to be worth playing, toss in a duck call, all in a vague 12 bar format…. well….
9) shit, now the Jamaican steel drum effect, a slow 12 bar progression, my tenuous grasp on reality just broke its knuckles as this is likely a reworking of the “dog” song above (#4), shit fire

Track Listing
1. Higher And Higher   5. Waltz On Water
2. Walk On Water   6. Rev Bill's California Walls Revival
3. I Will Dig A Hole   7. Those Big Blue Eyes
4. The Dog [Dance]   8. Blue Grass Duck
  9. The Dog [Song]