Garwood, Duke / Dreamboat Safari
Album: Dreamboat Safari   Collection:General
Artist:Garwood, Duke   Added:May 2011
Label:Fire Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-05-30 Pull Date: 2011-08-01
Week Ending: Jul 10 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5
Airplays: 1 3 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 06, 2011: bricolage
Space Trucker Lady
4. Jun 22, 2011: Brownian Motion
Space Trucker Lady
2. Jun 25, 2011: Music Casserole
Space Trucker Lady
5. Jun 15, 2011: Brownian Motion
Gold Watch
3. Jun 23, 2011: Brownian Motion
Gold Watch
6. Jun 11, 2011: Songs: Cantan pts. I & II
Taras Bulbous

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-05-25
Tom Waits’ish garbage can blues meets some great experimental mixing and recording. One second this sounds like Tom Waits meets Country Joe “Going Up the Country” and the next Wooden Shijps or some freaked out jam by Primus. Some is living room roots, some has serious experimentalism (tape loops), others are dark and spooky like all things Nick Cave, funky jazz sax song tossed in too. Cool guitar playing, male vocs. Nothing pretentious or painful to say the least. Dense, with lots of really cool stuff in here.

1) bluesy, living room guitars, brushed drum, gospel feel “jesus got a gun”
2) twangy dirty blues, Tom Waits mixed with Country Joe, with background vocs, dobro
3) veers into a dark plod, nearly a digeridoo tone in the mix of vocs and baritone sax, garbage can drums, droney chantlike awesome and weird
4) upbeat drum machine and vibrato guitar, organ and this suddenly takes on a Wooden Shijps feel (huh?) uses a handheld tape recorder loop for treated “vocals”
5) dark, slow, deep toms, lovely old phase shifter on guitar, chill
6) rootsy sing songwriter feel, drums and elect. Guitar, nice
7) low fi solo feel again, acoustic guitar, sing songwrtr
8) garbage can percussion again, slow and mindful, trippy and dark, piano in there
9) jazzy sax and funky beat, cool noisey as hell organ stylings, pretty kick butt instrumental jam
10) chill again, with the cool guitar phase shifter, dark, echoey vocs come in late, spooky
11) upbeat rockin feel, accessible
12) jam, fades in with noisey heavy bass, funky and mean, bad ass searing guitar, like Primus jamming on Qualuudes
13) droney trippy bed to minimal percussion/beat with cool dulcimerish guitar (?), psychey with understated vocs as to be instrumental

Track Listing
1. Jesus Got A Gun   7. Wine Blood
2. Gods In My Shoes   8. Gengis
3. Panther   9. Tapestry Of Mars
4. Gold Watch   10. Flames Of Gold
5. Space Trucker Lady   11. Rank Panache
6. Summer Gold   12. Taras Bulbous
  13. Larry