Hiatt, John / Dirty Jeans And Mudslide Hymns
Album: Dirty Jeans And Mudslide Hymns   Collection:General
Artist:Hiatt, John   Added:Jul 2011
Label:New West Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-09-04 Pull Date: 2011-11-06
Week Ending: Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 18 Sep 11
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 06, 2023: Traditions
Don't Wanna Leave You Now
4. Nov 03, 2017: Traditions
Don't Wanna Leave You Now
2. Jan 09, 2021: Hanging in the bone yard
Damn This Town
5. Sep 09, 2017: The Iron Skillet
Detroit Made
3. Dec 09, 2017: The Iron Skillet
Damn This Town
6. Jul 18, 2015: The Iron Skillet
I Love That Girl

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2011-09-02
John Hiatt’s 20th album is a set of songs sounding very much like … well, like John Hiatt songs: mostly mid-tempo, guitar-based country-rockers with his smart lyrics, gravelly singing voice, and Americana themes. We hear about things he’s fond of—women, trains, cars—and also some things that get him down—change, hard times, tragedy.

No FCC issues.

1. * Angry, middle-aged loser curses the town that’s done him and his family wrong. (4:53)
2. ** Slow, sad, country in 6/8. He’s pining to get back together with an ex. You know it’s not going to happen. Nice pedal steel. (3:28)
3. * Upbeat pop song. He sings about his wife, ironically recalling their courtship. (4:21)
4. Another take on the “nobody’s got the blues like I do” theme. Mid-fast, country. (3:50)
5. ** Slow, lovely ballad, with strings. The idea here is “times are hard, but we’ve got each other.” Sounds very much like his classic “Feels Like Rain.” (5:45)
6. * Homage to the Buick Electra 225, a classic, luxury gas guzzler. Fast and fun. (3:55)
7. *** A scary, post-apocalyptic vision. We don’t know what happened. Who’s love is he talking about? Slow & stark. Set to a simple strummed guitar and a bit of mandolin. (6:22)
8. * You feel a bit better riding on a train, headed home. Shout out to Johnny Cash. (3:39)
9. Things have gone very wrong; now he even doubts his relationships. Slow, stark. (6:00)
10. * The California dream didn’t come true. Alienated from a girl, it takes him 2 cigarettes’ time to decide to leave. Sounds much like a song Guy Clark might write. (3:48)
11. Elegy for NYC 9/11/01. Sort of U2-style. Suitable for the anniversary. (5:09)

Track Listing
1. Damn This Town   6. Detroit Made
2. Til I Get My Lovin' Back   7. Hold On For Your Love
3. I Love That Girl   8. Train To Birmingham
4. All The Way Under   9. Down Around My Place
5. Don't Wanna Leave You Now   10. Adios To California
  11. When New York Had Her Heart Broke