Eno, Brian With Rick Holland / Drums Between The Bells
Album: Drums Between The Bells   Collection:General
Artist:Eno, Brian With Rick Holland   Added:Aug 2011
Label:Warp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-08-07 Pull Date: 2011-10-09
Week Ending: Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14
Airplays: 4 1 1 4 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 31, 2023: Stop Making Sense
Pour It Out
4. Jul 31, 2014: Amber Waves
Pour It Out
2. May 11, 2017: Sound and Solidarity
A Title
5. Aug 28, 2013: Beach Blanket Bingo
Sounds Alien
3. Mar 27, 2015: Mix Tape: Electric Outlet-ish
Bless This Space

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-08-02
Eno shows all the Warp/K!/Ninja Tune artists how its done: super cool electro, funky and heavy downtempo and chill all at the same time, with his inimitable treatments, echoes, voice. Very contemporary, new ground for him but then out of nowhere a tone will appear that’s right off of Talking Heads 1980 record “Fear of Music”. Don’t despair old fans: theres plenty of tracks that almost reprise Music For Airports ambience too. Features text of poet Holland, usually densely treated so as to be a musical instrument in itself, shared by himself and 8 others (including Holland). So fracking good!!! What else would you expect? Play with Ninja Tune stuff and (afile denizens) Blue Verhey.

1) (3:46) funky electro feel, slow phrased spoken words, inimitable ambient and echo effects
2) (3:00) vocoder treated voice, slow words again, more of a tribal type chill electro, super cool sexy
3) (2:25) simple piano with cool spoken word poetry, ambient tones appear later, trippy and lovely, feels like being at The Tate Modern or something
4) (3:36) female voice reciting science geeky themed words, over lovely echoey piano that builds with strings etc
5) (2:49) funky chill
6) (6:54) ambient music, old school a la Music For Airports with fem voice
7) (3:12) dark rumble with chill beats, space flight themes
8) (2:38) male/female spoken over dark industrial noise
9) (1:37) Music for Airports electric piano, no words
10) (3:50) lovely downtempo with female voice
11) (2:53) jungly electro with metal tinged guitar, has intensity
12) (2:41) tribal dubby Eno, vocals are sung though monotone, very Eno
13) (1:56) My Life With the Bush of Ghosts tribal, afro-spooky comes to mind
14) (1:43) male vocals, sung to simple airy synth melodies, dreamy
15) (0:57) dead air, blank
16) (6:46) very chill, “my god is in the breath of crows”, really chill and dramatic

Track Listing
1. Bless This Space   9. As If Your Eyes Were Partly Closed
2. Glitch   10. A Title
3. Dreambirds   11. Sounds Alien
4. Pour It Out   12. Dow
5. Seedpods   13. Multimedia
6. The Real   14. Cloud 4
7. The Airman   15. Silence
8. Fierce Aisles Of Light   16. Breath Of Crows